University of Minnesota Duluth
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

Marshall W. Alworth Hall, c. 1974

First Floor

Marshall W. Alworth Planetarium

Was constructed with the aid of a major gift from a prominent Duluth citizen. Special programs are arranged for schools and other groups. Free sky shows are presented every Wednesday at 7:00 PM. UMD also offers introductory astronomy courses for liberal education credit.

Second Floor

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Began as UMD's Computer Engineering Program in the fall of 1983. In 1994, electrical engineering was added, changing the department's name to Electrical and Computer Engineering. Electrical and computer engineering is concerned with theory, design and application of computers, microelectronics, control systems, communication systems, power systems, and signal and image processing systems. Electrical and computer engineering classrooms, labs, senior projects, and research facilities can be found in this area. In 2003, the Masters of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering was established.

Third Floor

Department of Physics

Programs feature coursework and research experience for students seeking employment in industry, liberal education credits, or graduate school preparation. Many students must complete courses in physics as required for majors in engineering, or sciences. A graduate program leads to the Master of Science degree. Research projects include the neutrino detector in the Tower-Soudan mine and lake studies in association with the Large Lakes Observatory.

  • The Physics Department is involved in a research project with the neutrino detector in the Tower-Soudan mine.

Next Location

Turn right at the end of the first hallway through MWAH. Walk past the two lecture halls on the left, and head up the staircase on the left. Go to the third floor, turn left at the top of the stairs, and follow the skyway into Swenson.

Tour Stops

Tour Home

  1. Solon Campus Center
  2. Darland Administration Building
  3. Chemistry Building
  4. School of Medicine
  5. Marshall W. Alworth Hall
  6. Swenson Science Building
  7. Life Science Building
  8. Heller Hall
  9. Kirby Student Center
  10. Residence Dining Center
  11. Housing
  12. Health Services
  13. Kirby Plaza
  14. Bohannon Hall
  15. Montague Hall
  16. Endazi-gikinoo'amaading
  17. Labovitz School of Business and Economics
  18. Library
  19. Swenson Civil Engineering Building
  20. Voss-Kovach Hall
  21. Engineering Building
  22. Visualization & Digital Imaging Lab
  23. Marshall Performing Arts Center
  24. Sports and Health Center
  25. Weber Music Hall
  26. Humanities Building
  27. A.B. Anderson Hall
  28. Tweed Museum of Art
  29. Cina Hall
  30. Chester Park
  31. Other Points of Interest


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 10/05/11 02:58 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations