Tuesday, April 11, 2006 VOLUME 23, NUMBER 13

home link
events heading
art events link
music events link
theatre events link
lectures workshops link
special events
glensheen events link

administration news link
faculty staff news heading
academic dept faculty news
nrri link
sea grant link
medical school link
pharmacy link


Barbara Elliott, professor, Department of Family Medicine, is this year’s recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Distinguished Research. This honor is awarded to a faculty member who has been identified for their excellence in research, for their scholarly contributions to their respective field, and for exceptional contributions to student research in education.

Dalibor Froncek, associate professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, presented a talk “Cheesecake Factory Design” at the Thirty-seventh Southeastern International Conference on Combinatorics, Graph Theory, and Computing in Boca Raton, FL.

Larry Knopp, professor, Department of Geography, is this year’s recipient of the Albert Tezla Teacher/Scholar Award. This award is given annually to a faculty member in the College of Liberal Arts or the School of Fine Arts who has an exceptional and effective teaching style that emphasizes the worth of research in a learned discipline and the maturing impact scholarly activity has on the development of human attitudes and values.

Ron Marchese, professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, recently had a chapter “Archaeological Perspectives in an Ethnographic Context: Inter-Connected Material Culture” appear in Ethnoarchaeological Investigations in Rural Anatolia (2005). Marchese has also been nominated as an invited lecturer in the national lecture series of the American Institute of Archaeology. Marchese is currently on sabbatical leave.

Viktor V. Zhdankin, professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, is this year’s recipient of the Jean G. Blehart Distinguished Teaching Award. This honor is given each year to a faculty member who has made contributions to the teaching mission of UMD that are of extraordinary quality.


Angela Rohweder received an award for “Best Student Poster” at the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) regional meeting in March in St. Cloud. Rohweder’s poster entitled “A survey of atrazine in Prairie Pothole wetlands and preliminary gonadal examination of Rana pipiens” was co-authored with Jennifer Olker, Pat Schoff, Lucinda Johnson, and Glenn Guntenspergen. She received a travel award to present her research at the national SETAC meeting this November in Montreal.

Elaine Ruzycki gave a talk entitled “Preliminary Results of Exploratory Data Analysis of the National Park Service Great Lakes Network Water Quality Data” at the fifth annual Western Great Lakes Research Conference last March in Ashland, WI. Her co-authors were Rich Axler, George Host, and Jerry Henneck.

In January, Ruzycki received the Noth American Lake Management Society’s best student poster award for her poster entitled “Estimating sediment and nutrient loads in three Western Lake Superior streams: Continuous turbidity monitoring versus spot sampling and modeling.” The poster was presented at the NALMS annual meeting held last November in Madison, WI.


See next issue.


Jon Holy, associate professor, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, was an invited speaker for the Center for Neurosciences and Cell Biology, International Courses on Toxicology. The conference was held at the University of Coimbra, Portugal, in March. Holy presented “Nuclear and Cytoskeletal Targets of Novel Phytochemicals with Chemotherapeutic Potential” and “Morphological Approaches Toward Assessing Cellular Responses to Novel Anti-cancer Therapeutics.”


Karen Bastianelli, Melissa Bumgardner, and Timothy Stratton co-authored a contributed poster entitled “Patient Actions Following Point-of-Care Testing by Pharmacists - Three Month Follow-Up” at the 153rd Annual Meeting of the American Pharmacists Association in San Francisco, CA, in March.

Randall Seifert, Michael Brown, Michael Kotlyar, Jeannine Conway, and John St. Peter (all from UMTC College of Pharmacy) received the 2006 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Innovations in Teaching Award for their innovations portfolio entitled “An Internet-Based Medical Chart for Documentation and Evaluation of Students’ Simulated Patient Care Activities.”

Marcia Worley, assistant professor, co-authored three presentations to the Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences Section of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science at the 153rd Annual Meeting of the American Pharmacists Association at San Francisco, CA, in March as follows: a podium presentation, in which she was the presenter, “Do Pharmacists and Patients Read from the Same Relationship Script?” with Paul Ranelli, Tim Stratton, Jon Schommer, Ronald Hadsall, Donald Uden (all from UMTC College of Pharmacy), and Lawrence Brown (University of Tennessee); a poster paper entitled “Diabetic Patients’ Educational Needs: Is There a Role for the Pharmacist in the Patient’s Eyes?” co-authored with Carol Hermansen-Kobulnicky (University of Wyoming); and a second poster paper, “College Students’ Depression Treatment Decision-Making: A Narrative of the Trajectory of Their Antidepressant Use,” with Reshmi Singh (University of Massachusetts), Jon Schommer, Peter Morley, Cynthia Peden-McAlpine and Leslie Lytle (all from UMTC College of Pharmacy).

Worley published the article, “Testing a Pharmacist-Patient Relationship Quality Model Among Older Persons with Diabetes,” in Research in Social and Administrative Pharmacy 2006, Vol. 2, No. 1, 1-21.

Campus Events --- This issue

Campus News --- This issue

Currents Schedule

Subscribe for an E-mail notice of each Currents issue: instructions

There are many ways to get publicity for your UMD events: Currents faculty-staff newsletter, the WEB Calendar of Events, Business Announce E-mail, Department Web pages, News Releases, the UMD Home Page, running advertising, making brochures and running ads in the Statesman student newspaper. Information and policies can be found at http://www.d.umn.edu/publications/publicizingevents.html.

To submit material to CURRENTS, email currents@d.umn.edu

The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.

Comments to: creitan@d.umn.edu
Copyright: 2005-2006 University of Minnesota Duluth
Page URL: http://www.d.umn.edu/currents
Page Coordinator: University Relations

Return to UMD Home Page.