Department Directory

Earth and Environmental Sciences, Department of

Services provided:
The Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences offers three baccalaureate degree programs: a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) and a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Geological Sciences and a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Environmental Science. The B.S. in Geological Sciences offers two areas of emphasis, a general geology option and a sub-plan in Exploration and Mining Geology. These degree programs prepare students for careers in the geological and environmental sciences in industry, regulatory agencies, and non-profit organizations. We also offer a Master of Science (M.S.) degree in geology, and have a co-operative Ph.D. program with the Twin Cities Campus. Graduate program specialties include hydrogeology, geomorphology, glacial geology, Precambrian and economic geology, limnology, petrology, tectonics, structural geology, planetary science, and paleoclimatology. Students can also specialize in teaching Earth and environmental science through degrees offered by the College of Education and Human Service Professions (CEHSP).
Department web site:
How to contact:
Howard Mooers, Professor and Department Head
Located:Heller Hall, Room 229
Phone:726-8385 or 726-7239
TTY/TDD:Minnesota Relay Service (800) 627-3529
Postal Address:
Earth and Environmental Sciences, Department of
University of Minnesota Duluth
Heller Hall 229
1114 Kirby Drive
Duluth, MN 55812-3036

Detailed Directory Listing:

    • (Science and Engineering, Swenson College of)
    • Fax: 218-726-8275, email:
    • 229 HH, (8:00 am - 4:30 pm) 726-8385
    • Dept Head -- Howard Mooers, 227 HH [hmooers] 726-7239
    • Associate Admin -- Claudia Rock, 229 HH [crock] 726-7238
    • Prin Ofc & Admin Spec -- Laura Chapin, 230 HH [lchapin] 726-8385
    • Graduate Studies Dir --Nigel Wattrus [nwattrus] 726-8479
  • See Staff Section For:
    • Professor: Erik T Brown, John W Goodge, Vicki L Hansen, Howard D Mooers
    • Professor Emeritus: Steven M Colman, James A Grant, John C Green, Timothy Holst, Ronald L Morton, Richard W Ojakangas
    • Assoc Professor: Christina D Gallup, Karen Gran, Penelope Morton, John B Swenson, Nigel J Wattrus
    • Asst Professor: Latisha Brengman, Frederick A Davis, Christian Schardt, Byron Steinman
    • Professor Emeritus: James D Miller
    • Regents Professor Emeritus: Thomas C Johnson, George Rapp

Directory Home Page

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]