EHSO Home Page
        Environmental Health and Safety Office     
Safe Laboratory Practices
Laboratory Biosafety Level Criteria
Table1: Summary of  Recommended Biosafety  Levels for Infectious Agents
Table1a: Summary of Vertebrate Animal Biosafety Levels (ABSL)
Biological Emergencies
Biosafety Cabinets (BSC's)
Types of BSC's
Comparison of BSC's Characteristics
Selection of a BSC Through Risk Assessment
IBC Application Forms

Biosafety Levels Criteria

The essential elements of the four biosafety levels for activities involving infectious microorganisms and laboratory animals are summarized in Table1 and Table1a.  The levels are designated in ascending order, by degree of protection provided to personnel, the environment, and the community.

The following links will provide you with a more elaborate description of the necessary requirement and condition under which work may be conducted per biosafety level.

Biosafety Levels for Work with Infectious Microorganisms.
  1. Biosafety Level1 (BSL1)
  2. Biosafety Level2 (BSL2)
  3. Biosafety Level3 (BSL3)

Biosafety Levels for Activities in Which Experimentally or Naturally    Infected Vertebrate Animals Are Used.
  1. Animal Biosafety Level1 (ABSL1)
  2. Animal Biosafety Level2 (ABSL2)
  3. Animal Biosafety Level3 (ABSL3)

  Top of Page.
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.