< Back to NEMBA
Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards

The Award
nomination form
previous winners
previous nominees
book fair information
Contact Information
How to Support NEMBA

view photos

Become a member of a NEMBA Reading Team


29th Annual NEMBA
Call for Nominations

The 29th annual Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA) will be presented at a public celebration on Thursday, May 18, 2017, at the Kirby Ballroom on the University of Minnesota Duluth campus. The celebration will include a featured speaker, book fair, and refreshments.

Nominations are now being accepted, along with a $25 non-refundable entry fee for each nominated title.



Nominations may be submitted in one of six categories:

(1) Nonfiction: nonfiction works such as history, biography, guidebooks, cookbooks, books about science and nature, and scholarly works.

(2) Fiction: novels, short stories, plays, and other works of narrative fiction.

(3) Art, Photography: books that primarily serve to showcase (and annotate) the visual art contained in them.

(4) Children's Literature: books of any type intended for children and young adults.

(5) Poetry: collections of poetry or a single poem of book length.

(6) Memoir: books that examine some aspect of the world from a highly personal perspective whether in the form of a memoir, personal essay, or other work of creative nonfiction.

Reading teams will choose a winner and honorable mention in each category. If a book is nominated in more than one area, the Library NEMBA Team will determine the category for the entry.

Eligibility Requirements and Entry Guidelines:


  • The subject matter of nominated books must substantially represent northeastern Minnesota in the areas of history, culture, heritage, or lifestyle. For the purpose of the awards, northeastern Minnesota includes the following counties: Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake, Pine, and St. Louis.
  • Nominated books must have a 2016 publishing date. Books with a 2015 copyright that were not published and available until 2016 may be submitted in the 29th annual NEMBA.  A written explanation for why a book with a 2015 copyright is eligible must be submitted along with the nomination form.
  • Nominated books must have been written in English and published in bound paper format or ebook.
  • One copy of each nominated book must be submitted along with an entry form.
  • A $25 NON-REFUNDABLE entry fee is required for each nominated book; the fee MUST accompany the nomination form and book in order for the nomination to be processed. Checks or money orders only, made payable to the Kathryn A. Martin Library.

Deadline for Entry: February 1, 2017


Send a completed nomination form, PDF documentone copy of each nominated book, and a $25 non-refundable entry fee to:

UMD Kathryn A. Martin Library
Library Administration Office
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812

Telephone: 218-726-7889
Fax: 218-726-8019
Email: libnemba@d.umn.edu

Nominations must be postmarked or delivered to the library by the due date (February 1, 2017).



The winning author in each category will receive a cash prize of $200. The winning author and the honorable mention in each category will receive a glass plaque and 100 book seals.

Awards Presentation:


Winning and honored authors will be announced at a reception in the Kirby Ballroom on the UMD campus on Thursday, May 18, 2017.

NEMBA winner seal  NEMBA honorable mention seal 
NEMBA Book Seals now available!


Presented by the UMD Kathryn A. Martin Library
416 Library Drive
Duluth, MN 55812

& Friends of the Duluth Public Library

in collaboration with The Lake Superior Writers


Kathryn A. Martin Library | 416 Library Drive | Duluth MN 55812-3001
Phone: 218-726-8102
©2017 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer
Last modified: December 21, 2016
Library Site Coordinator: Kathryn A. Martin Library

University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities