University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

February 19, 2004
Susan Beasy Latto, UMD Director of Public Relations slatto@d.umn.edu 218 726-8830
Jackie Millslagle, Associate Dean, UMD College of Education and Human Service Professions jmillsla@d.umn.edu 218 726-7191
Paul Deputy, Dean, UMD College of Education and Human Service Professions pdeputy@d.umn.edu 218 726-6537
Linda Distad, President, MACTE lsdistad@stkate.edu 651 690-6798


Study Finds Majority of Minnesota Higher Education Faculty in Teacher Education Have Extensive Experience in Pre-school Thru 12th Grade

UMD faculty have high level of classroom experience, and are actively engaged with Duluth area P-12 schools through collaborations & partnerships.

Background directly contributes to the academic achievement and healthy development of children and youth in Minnesota

The Minnesota Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (MACTE) has filed a report to the Minnesota legislature entitled "Involvement of Minnesota Teacher Education Institutions with P-12 Schools". The report is in response to the Higher Education Omnibus Bill of 2003.

Based on the data collected, MACTE reports that:

UMD College of Education and Human Service Professions Dean Paul Deputy says he is very pleased with the results of the study and believes it accurately reflects the background of experience of the UMD Education Department faculty. He states, "The depth of experience of our UMD faculty in pre-school through 12th grade education provides a strong framework for preparing young teachers entering the profession. This background also accounts for UMD's strong involvement with the Duluth area schools and outreach programs."

Minnesota teacher education programs are actively involved in P-12 schools through partnership schools and districts, and by including P-12 school practitioners in teacher education programs.

These reciprocal relationships and the efforts of P-12 and higher education faculty strengthen both P-12 education and teacher education. P-12 partnerships include professional development schools, multifaceted partnerships, and friendships.

Minnesota teacher education programs involve P-12 practitioners in their programs to enhance the quality of preparation through the involvement of people with special expertise, to seek input and ownership of pre-service and in-service curricula, and to provide special professional development opportunities for P-12 practitioners to refine their practices and to teach them to others.

Results of the surveys indicate that almost all teacher educators in Minnesota have held teaching licenses, have a high level of classroom experience, and are actively engaged with P-12 schools through collaborations and partnerships. This background directly contributes to the academic achievement and healthy development of children and youth in Minnesota

The data for the report derived from two sources: 1.) the Faculty Experience Survey of MACTE's twenty-nine member institutions and their education faculties with questions specifically directed to the issues in the legislation and 2.) the Annual MACTE Institutional Report that MACTE conducts each fall of its member institutions. The data from these two sources confirm a high level of involvement of teacher educators and programs with P-12 education in Minnesota.

All data cited in this report is displayed on MACTE's Measures of Teacher Quality in Minnesota (MTQM) website, available for the public at http://www.mnteachered.org/.

The Higher Education Omnibus Bill of 2003 states:
The Minnesota Association of Colleges for Teacher Education is requested to collect data from each of its member institutions that measure the involvement of teacher education programs and their faculty with Minnesota K-12 schools. The data shall include at least: current Minnesota licensure status of faculty, K-12 teaching experience of college faculty under that licensure within the last five years, descriptions of college and faculty collaborations with K-12 teachers and students, and information on other projects involving higher education in K-12 schools. The data was presented to the education policy and finance committees of the legislature on February 15.

For specific information on background, policies, and procedures at the University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) please contact:

Jackie Millslagle, Assoc Dean, UMD College of Education & Human Service Professions jmillsla@d.umn.edu 218 726-7191
Paul Deputy, Dean, UMD College of Education and Human Service Professions pdeputy@d.umn.edu 218 726-6537

The following is a list of MACTE representatives:

College of St. Catherine
Dr. Linda Distad
651-690-6798
lsdistad@stkate.edu

Minnesota State University - Mankato
Michael Miller
507-389-5445
michael.miller@mnsu.edu

Maureen Prenn
507-389-5445
maureen.prenn@mnsu.edu

Augsburg College
Vicki Olson
612-330-1131
olsonv@augsburg.edu

Northwestern College
Susan Johnson
651-631-5333
snj@nwc.edu

Bemidji State University
Jack Reynolds
800-475-2001
jreynolds@bemidjistate.edu

St. Cloud State University
Kate Steffens
320-529-1666
KSteffens@stcloudstate.edu

Bethel College
Louise Wilson
651-638-6507
louise-wilson@bethel.edu

St. Mary's University of Minnesota
Jane Anderson
507-457-6621
janderson@smumu.edu

Carleton College
Deborah Appleman
507-646-4010
dapplema@carleton.edu

St. Olaf College
Myron Solid
507-646-3245
solid@stolaf.edu

College of St. Benedict/ St. John's University
Ann Marie Biermaier, OSB
320-363-5709
Abiermaier@csbsju.edu

Metropolitan State University
DeBorah Zackery
651-659-7187
deb.zackery@metrostate.edu

College of St. Scholastica
Betty Preus
218-723-7040
bpreus@css.edu

Southwest Minnesota State University
JoAnn Glasgow
507-537-6248
glasgow@SouthwestMSU.edu

Eileen Van Wie
507-537-7129
vanwieek@SoutwestMSU.edu

Concordia College
Michael Wohlfeil
218-299-4510
wohlfeil@cord.edu

University of Minnesota - Duluth
Jackie Millslagle
218-726-7191
jmillsla@d.umn.edu

Concordia University
Lonn Maly
651-641-8203
maly@csp.edu

University of Minnesota - Morris
Judy Kuechle
320-589-6400
jkuechle@mrs.umn.edu

Crown College
Scott Moats
952-446-4210
moatss@crown.edu

University of Minnesota - Twin Cities
Pat Avery
612-625-5802
avery001@umn.edu

Gustavus Adolphus College
Debra Pitton
507-933-7456
dpitton@gac.edu

University of St. Thomas
Gene Audette
651-962-4531
ejaudette@stthomas.edu

Hamline University
Deirdre Kramer
651-523-2821
dkramer@gw.hamline.edu

Therese Kiley
651-523-2241
tkiley@gw.hamline.edu

Winona State University
Carol Anderson
507-457-5019
canderson@winona.edu

Jean Leicester
507-457-5654
jleicester@winona.edu

Martin Luther College
John Isch
507-354-8221
ischjr@mlc-wels.edu

 

 




UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 01/31/13 12:48 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations