University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

June 13, 2005
Susan Beasy Latto, UMD Director of Public Relations 218 726-8830 slatto@d.umn.edu
Joe Gallian, Professor, UMD Department of Mathematics and Statistics 218 726-7576 jgallian@d.umn.edu


UMD Professor Elected President
of Math Association of America


Joe Gallian.

University of Minnesota (UMD) Mathematics Professor Joe Gallian has been elected president of the Math Association of America, the largest national professional society focused on undergraduate education. He will begin his four-year term in January 2006, first serving as president-elect, and then as acting president in January 2007.

Professor Gallian has taught at UMD since 1972. He has authored five books and published articles in many academic journals. His current research is focused on graph theory.

He is a frequent lecturer on a variety of math-based subjects such as credit card security, bar codes and postage codes. He recently used his mathematical expertise to break the Minnesota driver's license code.

Professor Gallian has previously served as second vice president of the 27,000 member Math Association of America. He has been a member for 30 years.




UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Gina Katzmark, Director of External Affairs, 218-726-6141, katzmark@d.umn.edu
Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 01/31/13 12:48 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations