University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

April 5, 2006
Susan Beasy Latto, Director, UMD Public Relations 218 726-8830 slatto@d.umn.edu
Janelle Wilson, Head, UMD Dept. of Sociology/Anthropology 218 726-6364 jwilson2@d.umn.edu
Gary Davis, UMD Dept of Behavioral Sciences, U of M Medical School Duluth 218 726-7144 gdavis1@d.umn.edu


Internationally Known Urban Sociologist
Ray Oldenburg
To Speak at UMD
April 27


Dennis Brissett Memorial Lecture Series

The University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) will present the annual Dennis Brissett Memorial Lecture on April 27 at 3 p.m. in room 142 of the Medical School Duluth on the UMD campus. Featured speaker will be internationally known urban sociologist, Ray Oldenburg, Professor Emeritus, University of West Florida in Pensacola. The title of his lecture is "The Third Place: A Belated Concept".

Professor Oldenburg's focus on the importance of informal public gathering places is captured in his concept of "the third place". The role of "third places" in allowing for sociability and facilitating local democracy is best described in his book, The Great Good Place. Professor Oldenburg is a highly sought consultant to urban planners who are attempting to vitalize their communities.

Ray Oldenburg and Dennis Brissett (for whom the lecture series is named) collaborated on a number of writing projects. Former UMD Behavioral Science Professor Dennis Brissett died in August 1996 at the age of 56.




UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 05/13/11 09:33 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations