University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

February 7, 2006
Susan Beasy Latto Director, UMD Public Relations 218 726-8830 slatto@d.umn.edu
Mary Ann Marchel, Asst. Dept Head, UMD Department of Education 218 726-7357 mmarchel@d.umn.edu
Linda Witzke, UMD Department of Education 218-726-7964 lwitzke@d.umn.edu

NOTE: Dr. Alfie Kohn is available for media interviews.
He may be reached at 617 489-6300.


UMD Presents Outspoken Education Critic
of Student Grading and Test Scores

February 23 at 1 p.m.

Dr. Alfie Kohn to Speak on
"The Deadly Effects of Tougher Standards"


The UMD Department of Education presents Dr. Alfie Kohn, perhaps the country's most outspoken critic of education's fixation on grades and test scores, Thursday, February 23 at 1 p.m. in the Marshall Performing Arts Center on the UMD campus. The lecture is fee and the public is cordially invited.

Dr Kohn's presentation is titled "The Deadly Effects of Tougher Standards: Challenging High-Stakes Testing and Other Impediments to Learning".

Dr. Kohn is the author of ten books including Punished by Rewards, The Schools our Children Deserve, and Unconditional Parenting.




UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 05/13/11 09:33 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations