University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

August 1, 2007
Susan Beasy Latto, Director, UMD Public Relations (218) 726-8830 slatto@d.umn.edu
James P. Riehl, Dean, UMD College of Science and Engineering (218) 726-6397 jpriehl@d.umn.edu
Stanley Burns, Associate Dean, UMD College of Science and Engineering (218) 726-7506 sburns@d.umn.edu


UMD Appoints Associate Dean for
College of Science and Engineering


Professor Stanley Burns.

Professor Stanley Burns has been appointed Associate Dean of the College of Science and Engineering, it was announced today by James P. Riehl, Dean of College of Science and Engineering.

In his new position, Professor Burns will be responsible for coordinating curricula, accreditation and other issues for the expanding engineering programs at UMD.

On July 19 UMD announced a new addition to its engineering programs. A Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering will be offered at UMD beginning Fall 2008. The UMD engineering programs currently enroll more than 750 students and include four (soon to be five) departments: Chemical Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Industrial Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering.

"We expect to have close to 1,000 engineering students by the year 2012," predicts Associate Dean Burns.

Prior to the appointment Professor Burns served as Head of the UMD Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.




UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Gina Katzmark, Director of External Affairs, 218-726-6141, katzmark@d.umn.edu
Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 05/13/11 09:33 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations