University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

March 10, 2011
Cheryl Reitan, Director, UMD Public Relations and Marketing 218 726-8996 creitan@d.umn.edu
Jeanne Doty, Associate Professor, UMD Department of Music 218 724-1630 jdoty@d.umn.edu
Tracy D. Lipke-Perry, Assistant Professor, UMD Department of Music 218 726-8208 tlipkepe@d.umn.edu


UMD Premieres Work by Composer Libby Larsen

March 24, Weber Music Hall


Libby Larsen, one of America's most performed living composers, will visit UMD for a two-day residency. She has written a new work for two pianos, which will premiere in the Weber Music Hall at 7:30 p.m. on March 24. Pianists Jeanne Doty and Tracy Lipke-Perry, faculty members in UMD's Department of Music, will present the world premiere of "79 Fossil Gestures of Antonio Alberto de Biedma."

Several other works written by Larsen will be performed at the recital and a "Meet the Composer" reception follows the concert.

Larsen will spend March 24 and 25 at UMD teaching and lecturing. While in residency, she will present the following free events in the Weber Music Hall:

UMD Chair of Music Theory and Composition, Dr. Justin Rubin, states that "in an era that has witnessed the reemergence of the composer as communicator, Libby Larsen stands at the forefront as a vital expressive force who responds to her audience's need for something new, something interesting, and yet always something that connects with one's intuition for what just seems plain wondrous."

Except for the March 24 recital, all events are free and the public is invited to attend.

For a complete schedule of events: http://www.d.umn.edu/music/
For recital tickets: http://www.d.umn.edu/sfa/
For more information about Libby Larsen: http://www.libbylarsen.com/




UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Gina Katzmark, Director of External Affairs, 218-726-6141, katzmark@d.umn.edu
Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 05/13/11 09:33 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations