University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News

 UMD News Releases

Associate Director of External Affairs | Cheryl Reitan | creitan@d.umn.edu | (218) 726-8996
UMD RSS Feed

October 5, 2012
Christiana Kapsner | UMD Public Relations Associate | 218 726-8830 | ckapsner@d.umn.edu
Joseph Gallian | Professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics | 218 726-7576 | jgallian@d.umn.edu


Mathematical Excellence

UMD professor to be appointed as an AMS Fellow
Dr. Joseph Gallian, University of Minnesota Duluth professor of mathematics and statistics, will be announced as a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) on November 1, 2012.

"It is a great honor to be in the first group of American Mathematical Society Fellows," said Gallian. "It is especially gratifying to be recognized for doing what I enjoy most--conveying the beauty and power of mathematics to others."

This year, Dr. Gallian enters his 40th year of teaching at UMD. He is a Morse Alumni Distinguished University Professor of Teaching. During his time at UMD, he has made significant contributions in teaching, research, and exposition, as well as mentoring UMD students for four decades. He has run the Research Experience for Undergraduates Program (REU) each summer for 30-plus years, with over 100 of his students continuing on to earn PhDs with much of their work published in professional journals.

The AMS selects members "who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics."



UMD RSS Feed   2014: [ January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December ]
Archives of Previous Years: [ 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 ]




UMD External Affairs Team
To send information to Currents and to submit a listing to the Experts List or
to send major news stories for homepage features, news releases and UM Twin Cities Brief use umdnews@d.umn.edu


Cheryl Reitan, Associate Director of External Affairs, 218-726-8996, creitan@d.umn.edu
Betty Greene, Associate Administrator, 218-726-6140, bgreene@d.umn.edu
Brett Groehler, Director of Photography, 218-726-7115, bgroehle@d.umn.edu
Charlene Aaseng, Graphic & Multimedia Designer, 218-726-6858, caaseng@d.umn.edu
Kathleen McQuillan-Hofmann, Communication Associate, 218-726-7111, kmcquill@d.umn.edu
Lori Melton, Communication Associate, 218-726-8830, lmelton@d.umn.edu
Joel Youngblom, Web Development & Content Manager, 218-726-8798, jyoungbl@d.umn.edu


© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 10/05/12 09:15 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations