Academic Administration

Council for Advancement of Student Learning


The UMD Council for Advancement of Student Learning (CASL) is convened by the assessment director and reports to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Administration. CASL is composed of appointed faculty and staff representatives from academic and functional units that support assessment practices. CASL strives to build capacity to effectively assess student learning, foster a culture of continuous improvement, and guide the development and implementation of a campus assessment plan. Specifically, CASL will:

Initially, the UMD CASL will consist of an associate dean from each of the five collegiate units, a representative of the Educational Policy Committee (EPC), a faculty member at-large, a representative of Academic Support and Student Life, and the director of assessment. As an implementation plan develops, representatives of other functional units may be added to the Council.  Note:  Refer to 11:10-08 minutes where CASL agreed to add three additional faculty and a representative of collegiate Student Affairs offices.

CASL Membership, 2008-2009

2009-2010 Membership

Jerry Pepper, Associate Dean, CLA

Julie Westlund, representing ASSL and co-curricular programs

Stan Burns, Associate Dean, SCSE

Geoff Bell, representing EPC and LSBE

Arden Weaver, Associate Dean, SFA

Wayne Jesswein,Associate Dean, LSBE

Bruce Munson, Associate Dean, CEHSP

Jackie Millslagle, VC and Director of Assessment

Shannon Godsey, representing CEHSP

Donn Branstrator, representing SCSE (class schedule conflicted; no one else appointed)

Curt Phillips, representing SFA

Michelle Hatcher, representing academic advising

John Schwetman, representing CLA

Mary Keenan, coordinator of retention initiatives