University of Minnesota Duluth Skip to Content Search | People | Departments | Events | News  

MAPL - Homepage College of Liberal Arts - UMD

Guest Speakers

Distinguished guest speakers are a key component of the MAPL program.  We pride ourselves in being able to bring to our classes a broad array of state and national leaders who are willing to share their time and knowledge with our students. The interactions our students have with these talented advocates not only expand their leadership networks, but provide them with the resources for becoming indispensable members of the advocacy leadership community as well. 

We extend our appreciation to all of our guest speakers!

To date, these speakers are confirmed for the Spring 2014 semester.

Jan 24-25, 2014
Tom Weber, MPR News Reporter, The Daily Circuit

Jan 31 - Feb 1, 2014
Thomas Stanley,
Assistant Attorney, St. Louis County
Ian Kimmer, Northern Communities Director, Friends of the Boundary Waters Wilderness

Feb 14-15, 2014
Don Ness,
Mayor, City of Duluth

Feb 21-22, 2014


Mar 7-8, 2014
Kate Hoff, Vice President, Institute of Agriculture
Jim Nobles, Legislative Auditor, State of Minnesota
Rinal Ray, Public Policy Advocate, Minnesota Council of Nonprofitsm

Mar 14-15, 2014
Kenza Hadj-Moussa
, Minnesota Coalition for the Homeless
Fawn Bernhardt-Norvell, Director of Development, Hennepin Theatre Trust

Mar 28-29, 2014

Kristen McMullen, Co-Founder, United Strategies
Brendan Cummins, Attorney, Cummins & Cummins
C.Scott Cooper, Executive Director, RE-AMP Network
Jake Spano,

Apr 4-5, 2014
Erik Torch, Director of Grantmaking, Northland Foundation
Pat McKone, Director Mission Programs, American Lung Association of the Upper Midwest

Apr 11-12, 2014
Susy Bates, Political Director, womenwinning
Emily Larson, Duluth City Councilor 
Veronica Mendez, Staff, Centro Trabajadores Unidos en Lucha
Alan Netland, President, Northeast Area Labor Council
Dan O'Neil, President, Plumbers & Steamfitters Local 11
Beth McCuskey, Vice President, Duluth Federation of Teachers 

Apr 25-26, 2014
Eliot Seide, Executive Director, AFSCME Council 5
Matt Musel, Manager of Major Gifts, Minnesota Histrocial Society
Will Blauvelt, Director of Development, MN2020

May 2-3, 2014
John Kaul, Owner, Capital Gains Inc.
Bree Halverson, State Director, Working America

Fall 2013 Speakers

Sept 6-7, 2013
Josh Wise,

Sept 20-21, 2013
Dr. Katherine Fennelly, Professor, Humbphrey School of Public Affairs
Mayor Don Ness,
Councilor Jake Spano, At-large City Councilor, St. Louis Park
Dr. Lauren Martin, Director of Research, Urban Research Outreach/Engagement Center
Katie Knutson,

Sept 27-28, 2013
Tom Gillaspy, retired demographer, State of Minnesota
Michael Kuchta, Labor Journalist and Union Activist, AFSCME Council 5
Tom Stanley, Assistant Attorney, St. Louis County
Ken Peterson, Commissioner, MN Department of Labor and Industry

Oct 4-5, 2013

Oct 18-19, 2013
John Goldfine, Vice-Chairman, ZMC Hotels

Oct 25-26, 2013
Gary Cunningham, Vice President, Northwest Area Foundation
Romy Justillien, Program Associate with BCT Partners LLC
Aya Johnson, Community Representative for Rep. Keith Ellison (MN-05) and Brynn Sias, a Constituent Services Director for Rep. Nolan (MN-08)
Kris Jacobs, Executive Director, JobsNow Coalition
Sheila Smith, Executive Director, MN Citizens for the Arts

Nov 8-9, 2013
Jeff Corey, Executive Director, One Roof Community Housing
Alondra Cano, City Counselor, City of Minneapolis, Ward 9
Emily Edison, Executive Director, SOAR Career Solutions
Peter Benner, former Executive Director, AFSCME Council 6
Julene Boe, Executive Director, St. Louis River Alliance (SLRA)
Nancy Gurney, President and CEO, Opportunity Services, LLC

Nov 15-16, 2013
Jim Nobles,
Juve Mezar, founding member and former Director, Navigate MN
Dan Hartman, Interim Director, Glensheen Mansion
Angie Miller, Former Interim Commissioner, St. Louis County
Mayor Don Ness, Mayor, City of Duluth
Erik Torch, Grant Program Manager, Northland Foundation
Richard Calrbom, Director of State Campaigns, Freedom to Marry
Dane Smith, President, Growth and Justice
Kristiana Handt, City Administrator, City of Scandia

Nov 22-23, 2013
Chris DeLaForest, Independent Lobbyist
Reagan Lee, Hip Hop Performer, ALL DAY
Katherine Tinucci, Press Secretary, Office of Governor Mark Dayton

Dec 6-7, 2013
Robert Scarlett, Independent Advisor
Brad Lehto, Chief of Staff Director, MN AFL-CIO
Bill Blazer, Senior Vice-President of Public Affairs & Buisness Development, MN Chamber of Commerce
John Keller, Executive Director, Immigrant Law Center of Minnesota

Dec 13-14, 2013
Senator Patricia Torres Ray, Senator for District 63, State of Minnesota

See: Past Guest Speakers