University of Minnesota Duluth Skip to Content Search | People | Departments | Events | News  

MAPL - Homepage College of Liberal Arts - UMD

Homepage - Master of Advocacy and Political Leadership (MAPL) - UMD CLA

The MAPL program owes it unique opportunities to a number of extremely talented advocates and leaders who have been willing to contribute their time and share their knowledge with our students. They are the heart and soul of MAPL and we would like to extend our appreciation to them! You are an inspiration to our students!

MAPL Community of Guest Speakers:

Jeffrey Anderson, Councilor-at-large, City of Duluth • James Backstrom, Attorney, Dakota County• Chelle Bakke, Northeast Entrepreneur Fund • Kristin Beckmann, Executive Director, SEIU MN State Council• Tom Beer, former Political Actions Director, AFSMCE Council 6• Mary Bellman, Labor Educator, UM Labor Education Services• Pete Benner, former Executive Director, MN Council 6•Mitch Berg, Alumni Board, University of Minnesota • Steve Berg, Columnist, Cityscape, MinnPost• Sen. Linda Berglin, MN State Senator • blank slate theatre• Amy Bodnar, Senior Politcal Organizer, Service Employees International Union• Denise Cardinal, Executive Director, Alliance for a Better MN • Chris Coleman, Mayor, City of St. Paul• Dan Cramer, Co-Founder, Grassroots Solutions • Deanna Cummings, • Brendan Cummins, Lead Labor Attorney, Miller, O'Brien, Cummins• Gary Cunningham, Vice President, Northwest Area Foundation• Rep. Jim Davnie, MN Representative, State of MN• Tony DeAngelis, Labor Educator, Labor Education Service• Chris de LaForest, Government Affairs Consultant, De LaForest Consulting• TIm DeLaney, President and CEO, National Council of Nonprofits• Rep. Keith Downey, MN Representative, State of MN• Mary Ellison, Women's Program Staff Attorney, Advocates for Human Rights• Daniel Fanning, MAPL Graduate, Director, Duluth Office, Sen. Al Franken• Wade Fauth, Director of Grants & Senior Program Officer for the Blandin Fnd.• Glen Fladeboe, Independent Media Consultant • Don Fraser, Former U.S. Representative, MN & Minneapolis mayor• Keesha Gaskins, Executive Director, League of Women Voters • Becky Glass, Director, Center on Wisconsin Strategy• David Godfrey, Fiscal Analyst, Hennepin County • Mayra Gomez, Coordinator, Women and Housing Rights Programme • Dave Hage, Political Journalist, Minneapolis Star Tribune • Bree Halverson, MAPL Graduate, Political Director, St. Paul Regional Labor Federation • Sterling Harris, Community Education Coordinator, PAVSA • Karen Himle, Legislative Auditor, State of MN • Betsy Hodges, City Counselor, City of Minneapolis • Tom Horner, co-founder, Himle Horner Public Affairs • Kris Jacobs, Executive Director, Jobs Now Coalition • Karen Kingsley, Public Policy Director, Ready 4K • Judi Jennings, Director, Kentucky Women’s Foundation, Board Member, Appalshop • John Kaul, President, Capitol Gains, Inc. • Jodi Korzenowski, Bush Leadership Fellow, Bush Foundation • Gail Kulich-Jackson, MN Representative, State of MN • Liz Kuoppala, MAPL Graduate, Executive Director, MN Coaltion for the Homeless • Roberta (Robbie) LaFleur, Director, MN Legislative Reference Library • George Latimer, Visiting Professor-Urban Studies, Macalester College & fomer Mayor of St. Paul • Eric Lehto, Organizing Director, AFSCME MN Council 5 • Sara Letourneau, Ohio Regional Program Manager, Blue Green Alliance • Richard Levins, Professor Emeritus, Applied Economics, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities •Elizabeth Lincoln, Deputy Director, MN Legislative Reference Library • Siarhei Lisichonak, NGO Activist from Belarus • Candace Lund, MAPL Graduate & Organizing Director for the MN AFL-CIO • Nan Madden, Director, Budget Project/MN Council of Nonprofits • Senator John Marty, MN Senator, State of MN • Mary Mathews, President and CEO, Entrepreneur Fund • Matt Massman, Fiscal Analyst, MN State Senate • Brian McClung, McClung Communications and Public Relations Firm • Beth McCuskey, Duluth Federation of Teachers • Dan McElroy, Commissioner, Department of Employment and Economic Development • Sandra Menefee Taylor, Visual Artist • Grant Merritt, Of Counsel , Kalina, Wills, Gisvold, Clark • Kari Moe, Chief of Staff, US Respresentative Keith Ellison (MN-5) • Kelly Mullan, Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College, Career Specialist • Kathleen Murphy, Executive Director, MN CAFE (Constitutioal Ammendment for Equality) Coalition • Jeff Narabrook, Policy Associate, MN Council of Nonprofits • Don Ness, Mayor, City of Duluth•Alan Netland, President, Duluth Central Labor Body•James Nobles, Legislative Auditor, State of MN• James Oberstar, US Congressman, 8th District, MN• Elizabeth Olson, Churches United in Ministry (CHUM), Congregational Outreach Director• Dan O’Neill, Incoming President, Duluth Central Labor Body• Steve O'Neill, St. Louis County Commissioner, St. Louis County • Marie Pechek, Labor Relations Specialist, MN Nurses Assoication• Gene Pelowski, Jr., Representative, MN House • Alana Peterson, State Director, US Senator Al Franken• Tom Prichard, President of the Minnesota Family Council• Peter Rachleff, Labor and Social Historian, Macalester College • Maureen Ramirez, MAPL Graduate & University of Minnesota Regent• Rinal Ray, Project Coordinator, Minnesota Council of Nonprofits• Tom Reiner, Founding President, Northland Foundation• Kevin Ristau, Education Director, Jobs NOW Coalition•Bridgette Rongitsch, National Coordinator, Nonprofit Voter Engagement, MCN• Pam Saunders, Quality & Industrial Relations Manager, Organic Prairie/Meat Co.• Katherine Schill, Fiscal Analyst, MN State House• Marty Seifert, Minority Leader, MN House• Tony Sertich, Majority Leader, MN House• Larry Sillanpa, Editor, Labor World Newspaper • Claire Simonson, Visual Artist• Cheryl Skafte, Five Points Program Coordinator, Duuth Area Family YMCA• Dane Smith, President, Growth & Justice• Jennifer Smith, CPA, Eikill & Schilling• Sheila Smith, Executive Director, MN Citizens for the Arts • Steve Smith, Representative, MN House• Brandon Stahl, Writer,• Thomas Stanley, St. Louis County Attorney • Mary Strueffert, Regional Coordinator, Twin Ports Area Non-Profit Council • Lori Sturdevant, Editorial Writer, StarTribune • Amanda Tattersall, National Labor Activist & Author, Sydney Australia • Lorraine Teel, Executive Director, MN Aids Project• Bret Thiele, Human Rights Lawyer, Economic, Social & Cultural Litigation Programme• Jen Tudor, Faculty, Deparment of Communications Studies, St. Cloud State• Neva Walker, MN Representative, MN House • Josh Wise, Director, Twin Cities Labor Chorus, MN Citizens for the Arts • Sherry Wright, National AFSCME Organizer• Marcus Young, Artist in Residence, City of Duluth