[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Home  Research   Services   Computing About the Library

Kerlan Award

The Kerlan Award is given "in recognition of singular attainments in the creation of children's literature and in appreciation for generous donation of unique resources to the Kerlan Collection for the study of children's literature." Individuals from all areas of children's literature, including authors, illustrators, editors, publishers, and educators, are eligible for this honor.

When you click on the award recipient name, it will show you the books owned by the University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) Library.

Year of Award Kerlan Award
2011 Jane Kurtz
2010 Nancy L. Carlson
2009 Jeanette Winter
2008 Walter Dean Myers
2008 Robert Kraus
2007 Karen Cushman
2007 Louis Slobodkin
2006 Karen Hesse
2005 Ted Rand
2004 Lois Lowry
2003 Gustaf Tenggren
2003 Nikki Grimes
2002 Barbara Juster Esbensen
2002 Joan Lowery Nixon
2001 Don Freeman
2001 Jane Resh Thomas
2000 Irvin Kerlan (Original Creator of the Kerlan Collection)
2000 Patricia Lauber
1999 Eve Bunting
1999 Lois Lenski
1999 Dr. Norine Odland (University professor)
1999 Dr. Edward B. Stanford (University Librarian)
1998 Dahlov Ipcar
1997 Theodore Taylor
1996 Marion Dane Bauer
1996 Paul Galdone
1995 Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
1995 Margot Tomes
1994 Myra Cohn Livingston
1993 Mary Stolz
1992 Barbara Cooney
1991 Leonard Everett Fisher
1990 Madeleine L'Engle
1989 Gail E. Haley
1988 Jane Yolen
1987 Charles Mikolaycak
1986 Charlotte Zolotow
1985 Eleanor Cameron
1984 Margaret Wise Brown
1983 Katherine Paterson
1982 Jean Craighead George
1981 Tomie de Paola
1980 Glen Rounds
1979 Margot Zemach
1978 Carol Ryrie Brink
1977 Wanda Gág
1976 Roger Duvoisin
1975 Elizabeth Coatsworth
1975 Marie Hall Ets
1975 Marguerite Henry

Children's Book Award Homepage

Children's Literature Homepage


Disclaimer: "The views and opinions expressed in this page are strictly those of Martha Eberhart.
The contents of the page have not been reviewed or approved by the University of Minnesota."

Updated 9/2/11 Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

[an error occurred while processing this directive]