[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Home  Research   Services   Computing About the Library

Children's Book Awards

Andrew Carnegie Medal

The Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children's Video award is given to honor outstanding video productions for children released during the previous year. This award started in 1991 and is given to the video's producer by the Association for Library Service to Children(ALSC), a division of ALA, through a Carnegie endowment. http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/carnegiemedal/carnegiepast/index.cfm

Caldecott Medal


The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. It is named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott and awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/caldecottmedal/caldecotthonors/caldecottmedal.cfm

Children's Choices Booklist


The Children’s Choices booklist is chosen by five teams of children across the country. Publishers submit titles, and the five review teams work with teachers and librarians to incorpporate the books into classroom activities. The top tiles become part of Children's Choices. http://www.reading.org/Resources/Booklists/ChildrensChoices.aspx

Children's Notables Lists


The Children's Notables provides a annotated select list of excellent children's books published in the proceeding year. Notable children's books are chosen to include include "books of especially commendable quality, books that exhibit venturesome creativity, and books of fiction, information, poetry and pictures for all age levels (through age 14) that reflect and encourage children's interests in exemplary ways." http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/notalists/ncr/index.cfm

Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal


The Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal (a bronze medal) "honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over of period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. It is administered by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award was first given to its namesake in 1954." http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/wildermedal/index.cfm

Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award


Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award is divided into two divisions. A winner for a title for grades three through five, and a winner for grades six through eight. "Maud Hart Lovelace was a Minnesota author who grew up in Mankato, Minnesota. Her Betsy-Tacy books tell of her childhood in the town she calls "Deep Valley." Each year since 1980, the year of her death, there has been a Minnesota reading contest for third through eighth graders. A committee comprised of teachers and librarians selects the titles for the contest each spring, and students read the books on the list during the following school year. In March the students vote on their favorite book from the list, and on April 25, the anniversary of Maud's birthday, the winner is announced." http://www.maudhartlovelace.org/

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecturers Award


"The recipient of the ALSC award, named at the ALA midwinter meeting, and announced as soon as that person has accepted the appointment, may be an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children's literature, of any country, who shall prepare a paper considered to be a significant contribution to the field of children's literature. Once the name is made public, institutions wishing to host the lecture may apply. A library school, department of education in college or university, or a children's library system may be considered. This paper is delivered as a lecture each April, and is subsequently published in the ALSC publication, Journal of Youth Services in Libraries. Scott, Foresman established the lecture series in 1969." http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/arbuthnothonor/pastlecturers/pastlecturers.cfm

Mildred L. Batchelder Award


"This award, established in her honor in 1966, is a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States. ALSC gives the award to encourage American publishers to seek out superior children's books abroad and to promote communication among the peoples of the world." http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/batchelderaward/batchelderpast/index.cfm

Newbery Medal


"The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children." http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/newberymedal/newberyhonors/newberymedal.cfm

Pura Belpré Award


"The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays,affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA) and the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking (REFORMA), an ALA Affiliate." http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/belpremedal/belprepast/index.cfm

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal


"The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award, established in 2001, is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois, and is sponsored by the company. ALSC administers the award." http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/sibertmedal/sibertpast/sibertmedalpast.cfm

National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)

Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students


"A cooperative project between the National Science Teachers Association and the Children's Book Council. This list is published annually in the March issue of Science and Children, the journal devoted to preschool through middle level science teaching. The books on the list are targeted at grades K-8." http://www.nsta.org/

Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students

2009 http://www.nsta.org/publications/ostb/ostb2009.aspx



























Notable Social Studies Tradebooks for Young People


"The books that appear in these annotated book lists were evaluated and selected by a Book Review Committee appointed by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and assembled in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC). NCSS and CBC have cooperated on this annual bibliography since 1972. Books selected for this bibliography are written primarily for children in grades K-8." Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People appears in the May/June issue of Social Education. Current years are not available on the website.




2008 http://downloads.ncss.org/notable/notable2008.pdf


















Back to Top

Children's Literature Resources 

Library Homepage

Back to Top