skip navigation University of Minnesota Duluth



TH 1001 Introduction to Theatre
Daily Schedule

Day Date Topic Assignment


Aug 31

Introduction, syllabus, text, discussion forum.

Steven Dietz: American College Theater Festival

Ben Cameron:
The True Power of the Performing Arts

Wed Sept 2

Theatre Production

Video: Every Little Step, Part I

Fri Sept 4

Moodle Demonstration

On-line Discussion:
Link to Moodle - First assignment: Introduce Yourself!

Decide on a name for your discussion group



Sept 7
Labor Day - No class

Wed Sept 9

Theatre Production

Video: Every Little Step, Part II

Fri Sept 11

On-line Discussion: Chapters 1



Sept 14

Acting in Film, Part I
More about Michael Cain

Wed Sept 16

Theatre Production

Managing Director UMD Stage 2

Technical Director UMD Stage 2, Solveig Bloomquist

DirectorSpeech & Debate, Koki Sabatés

Meet in Dudley Experimental Theatre

Chapter 1 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Sept 18

On-line Discussion: Chapters 2
The Audience


Mon Sept 21

Acting in Film, Part II

Wed Sept 23 Theatre Spaces

Tour Marshall Center
Meet in Marshall Performing Arts Center

Chapter 2 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Sept 25

On-line Discussion: Chapter 3
Theatre Spaces


Mon Sept 28

Guest Speaker: Kelly Grussendorf

ActorImprov: Upright Citzen's Brigade

Wed Sept 30 Acting

Video: Uncle Vanya
More about Constantin Stanislavski
Chapter 3 Moodle Assignment Due

Spoon River Opens October 1
Marshall Performing Arts Center

Fri Oct 2

On-line Discussion: Chapter 4

Acting and Liberal Education
Sir Ian McKellen on Acting (humorous)

Mon Oct 5


Steven Dietz: American College Theater Festival

Video: Hamilton <>

Playwright Madeline George 3:15-4:15 PM in the Dudley Theatre

Wed Oct 7 Directing

Guest Speaker: Andy Bennett, Executive Director Renegade Theatre Company

Chapter 4 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 9

On-line Discussion: Chapters 5
Directors and Producers


Mon Oct 12 Playwrighting

Anna Deavere Smith <>

Video: Playwrights

Wed Oct 14


Guest Speaker: Tom Isbell & Erik Meixelsperger

Chapter 5 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 16 On-line Discussion: Chapters 6


Mon Oct 19

Greek Tragedy

Video: Antigone
More about Sophocles

Wed Oct 21

Shakespearean Tragedy

Video: Hamlet, Prince of Denmark
More about William Shakespeare

Chapters 6 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 23

On-line Discussion: Chapters 7
Dramatic Structure & Characters


Mon Oct 26

Midterm Review


Wed Oct 28

Midterm Exam

Midterm Exam

Chapter 7 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 30

Fall Break - No class

On-line Discussion: Chapters 8
Theatrical Genres


Mon Nov 2


Video: Everyman <>

Auteur Directors Video: Julie Taymor
More about Julie Taymor

Video: War Horse

Wed Nov 4 Scenic Design

Guest Speakers: Curt Phillips, Scenic Designer Hedwig and the Angy Inch, The Foreigner and Mary Poppins

Kia Lor, Scenic Designer, Watson Intelligence
Jenna Maddy, Scenic Designer, Spoon River

Meet in Dudley Experimental Theatre

Chapter 8 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 6 On-line Discussion: Chapter 9

Mon Nov 9

Costume Design

Guest Speaker: Patricia Dennis, Costume Designer

Heather Olson Costume Designer, Spoon River
Brandin Stagg, Costume Designer, Watson Intelligence

Something Rotten! Gregg Barnes, Costume Designer

Wed Nov 11 Make-up Design

Guest Speaker: Ryan Fargo, Make-up Designer for Hedwig and the Angy Inch

Chapter 9 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 13 On-line Discussion: Chapter 10
Stage Costumes

Mon Nov 16

Lighting Design

Guest Speaker: Wesley Darton, Lighting Designer, Spoon River
Kimberly Siefert, Lighting Designer,
Watson Intelligence

Wed Nov 18 Sound Design

Guest Speaker: Andy Kust Music Director, Spoon River Meet in the Marshall Center auditorium

The (curious case of the) Watson Intelligence Opens November 19
Dudley Experimental Theatre

Chapter 10 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 20 On-line Discussion: Chapter 11
Lighting and Sound


Mon Nov 23 Musical Theatre

Video: History of Musical Theatre
Video: Broadway Musicals

Video: Hamilton

Guest Speaker: Rebecca Katz Harwood

Wed Nov 25

Restoration Theatre/Realism


Video: Tartuffe
More about Moliere

Video: the Importance of Being Earnest
More about Oscar Wilde

Video: Miss Julie
More about August Strindberg

Chapter 11 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 27

Thanksgiving Holiday - No class

On-line Discussion: Chapter 12
Musical Theatre


Mon Nov 30

Contemporary Departures From Realism

Video: Between Beckett and Brecht
Video: Katrina Waiting for Godot

More about Samuel Becket
More about Bertholdt Brecht

Wed Dec 2

Theatrical Diversity


Video: Top Girls
More about Caryl Churchill

Video: Angels in America
More about Tony Kushner

Chapter 12 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Dec 4

On-line Discussion: Chapters 13 & 14
Global and Contemporary Theatre



Mon Dec 7

American Realism

Video: Death of a Salesman
More about Arthur Miller

Video: The Glass Menagerie
More about Tennessee Williams

Wed Dec 9

Final Review

Chapter 13 & 14 Moodle Assignment DueCourse Evaluation

Fri Dec 11

Final Theatre Reviews Due

Final Exam: <>
Thursday, December 17, 12:00-1:55 PM

Humanites 403

Continuing Education University of Minnesota Duluth
UMD logo