skip navigation University of Minnesota Duluth

E-Mail

Grades
Home

TH 1001 Introduction to Theatre
Daily Schedule

Day Date Topic Assignment

Mon

Aug 31

Introduction, syllabus, text, discussion forum.

Steven Dietz: American College Theater Festival

Ben Cameron:
The True Power of the Performing Arts


Wed Sept 2

Theatre Production

Video: Every Little Step, Part I


Fri Sept 4

Moodle Demonstration
Preferences

On-line Discussion:
Link to Moodle - First assignment: Introduce Yourself!

Decide on a name for your discussion group

 

Mon

Sept 7
Labor Day - No class


Wed Sept 9

Theatre Production

Video: Every Little Step, Part II


Fri Sept 11

On-line Discussion: Chapters 1

 

Mon

Sept 14
Acting

Acting in Film, Part I
More about Michael Cain

Wed Sept 16

Theatre Production

Managing Director UMD Stage 2

Technical Director UMD Stage 2

Director TBA

Chapter 1 Moodle Assignment Due


Fri Sept 18

On-line Discussion: Chapters 2
The Audience

 

Mon Sept 21
Acting

Acting in Film, Part II

Wed Sept 23 Theatre Spaces

Tour Marshall Center
Meet in Marshall Performing Arts Center

Chapter 2 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Sept 25

On-line Discussion: Chapter 3
Theatre Spaces

 


Mon Sept 28
Acting

Guest Speaker: Kelly Grussendorf, Actor

Improv: Upright Citzen's Brigade


Wed Sept 30 Acting

Video: Uncle Vanya
More about Constantin Stanislavski

Chapter 3 Moodle Assignment Due

Spoon River Opens October 1
Marshall Performing Arts Center

Fri Oct 2

On-line Discussion: Chapter 4
Acting

Acting and Liberal Education
Sir Ian McKellen on Acting (humorus)


Mon Oct 5

Directing


Guest Speaker: Andy Bennett, Executive Director Renegade Theatre Company

Wed Oct 7 Directing

Guest Speaker:

Chapter 4 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 9

On-line Discussion: Chapters 5
Directors and Producers


Mon Oct 12 Playwrighting

Guest Speaker: Tom Isbell & Stage 2 10-Minute Playwrights


Wed Oct 14

Playwrighting

Video: Playwrights

Chapter 5 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 16 On-line Discussion: Chapters 6
Plawrights

 


Mon Oct 19

Greek Tragedy


Video: Antigone
More about Sophocles


Wed Oct 21

Shakespearean Tragedy

Video: Hamlet, Prince of Denmark
More about William Shakespeare

Chapters 6 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 23

On-line Discussion: Chapters 7
Dramatic Structure & Characters

 


Mon Oct 26

Midterm Review

 


Wed Oct 28

Midterm Exam

Midterm Exam

Chapter 7 Moodle Assignment Due

The (curious case of the) Watson Intelligence Opens November 19
Dudley Experimental Theatre

 

Fri Oct 30

Fall Break - No class

On-line Discussion: Chapters 8
Theatrical Genres

 


Mon Nov 2

Scenic Design

Guest Speakers: Curt Phillips, Scenic Designer Hedwig and the Angy Inch
Kia Lor, Scenic Designer, Watson Intelligence
Jenna Maddy, Scenic Designer, Spoon River

Meet in Dudley Experimental Theatre

Wed Nov 4 Puppetry

Video: Everyman <http://vimeo.com/20629737>

Auteur Directors Video: Julie Taymor
More about Julie Taymor

Video: War Horse

Chapter 8 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 6 On-line Discussion: Chapter 9
Scenery
 

Mon Nov 9

Costume Design

Guest Speaker: Patricia Dennis, Costume Designer
Heather Olson, Costume Designer, Watson Intelligence

Wed Nov 11 Make-up Design

Guest Speaker: Ryan Fargo, Make-up Designer for Hedwig and the Angy Inch

Chapter 9 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 13 On-line Discussion: Chapter 10
Stage Costumes
 

Mon Nov 16

Lighting Design

Guest Speaker: Wesley Darton, Lighting Designer, Spoon River
Kimberly Siefert, Lighting Designer,
Watson Intelligence

 

Wed Nov 18 Sound Design

Guest Speaker: Sound Designer Nick Mrozek, Sound Designer, Andy Kust Music Director, Spoon River

Meet in the Marshall Center auditorium

The (curious case of the) Watson Intelligence Opens November 19
Dudley Experimental Theatre

Chapter 10 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 20 On-line Discussion: Chapter 11
Lighting and Sound

 


Mon Nov 23 Musical Theatre

Video: History of Musical Theatre
Video: Broadway Musicals

Guest Speaker: Rebecca Katz Harwood


Wed Nov 25

Restoration Theatre

Realism

 

Video: Tartuffe
More about Moliere

Video: the Importance of Being Earnest
More about Oscar Wilde

Video: Miss Julie
More about August Strindberg

Chapter 11 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 27

Thanksgiving Holiday - No class

On-line Discussion: Chapter 12
Musical Theatre

 


Mon Nov 30

Contemporary Departures From Realism

Video: Between Beckett and Brecht
Video: Katrina Waiting for Godot

More about Samuel Becket
More about Bertholdt Brecht


Wed Dec 2

Theatrical Diversity

 

Video: Top Girls
More about Caryl Churchill

Video: Angels in America
More about Tony Kushner

Chapter 12 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Dec 4

On-line Discussion: Chapters 13 & 14
Global and Contemporary Theatre

 

 


Mon Dec 7

American Realism

Video: Death of a Salesman
More about Arthur Miller


Video: The Glass Menagerie
More about Tennessee Williams


Wed Dec 9

Final Review

Chapter 13 & 14 Moodle Assignment Due

Course Evaluation


Fri Dec 11  

Final Theatre Reviews Due



Final Exam: <https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Png-zO3jVr5uouF5R4A_0YqDX2qu0IzVISDrWVha1DM/edit>
Thursday, December 17, 12:00-1:55 PM

Humanites 403

Continuing Education University of Minnesota Duluth
UMD logo