skip navigation University of Minnesota Duluth

E-Mail

Grades
Home

TH 1001 Introduction to Theatre
Daily Schedule

Day Date Topic Assignment
Wed Sept 3

Introduction, syllabus, text, discussion forum.

Ben Cameron:
The True Power of the Performing Arts

Fri Sept 5

Moodle Demonstration
Preferences

On-line Discussion:
Meet your discussion group

 


Mon

Sept 8
Theatre Production

Video: Every Little Step, Part I


Wed Sept 10

Theatre Production

Video: Every Little Step, Part II


Fri Sept 12

On-line Discussion: Chapters 1

On-line Discussion:
Every Little Step

Mon Sept 15
Theatre Production

Erika Sasseville, President UMD Stage 2

Dylan Rugh, director Red Light Winter

Wed Sept 17 Acting

Acting in Film, Part I
More about Michael Cain

Fri Sept 19

On-line Discussion: Chapters 2
The Audience

 

 


Mon Sept 22
Acting

Acting in Film, Part II


Wed Sept 24 Theatre Spaces

Tour Marshall Center
Meet in Marshall Performing Arts Center

Chapter 1 & 2 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Sept 26

On-line Discussion: Chapter 3
Theatre Spaces

 


Mon Sept 29 Acting

Guest Speaker: Kelly Grussendorf, Actor

Wed Oct 1 Acting

Improv: Upright Citzen's Brigade

Chapter 3 Moodle Assignment Due

A Doll's House Opens October 2
Marshall Performing Arts Center

Fri Oct 3

On-line Discussion: Chapter 4
Acting

 

 


Mon Oct 6 Directing

Guest Speaker: Andy Bennett, Executive Director Renegade Theatre Company


Wed Oct 8

Playwrighting

Video: Playwrighting

Chapter 4 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 10 On-line Discussion: Chapters 5
Directors and Producers

 

 


Mon Oct 13

Playwrighting

 

Guest Speaker: Stage 2 10-Minute Playwrights

 


Wed Oct 15 Greek Theatre

Video: Antigone
More about Sophocles

Chapter 5 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 17

On-line Discussion: Chapters 6 & 7
Plawrights

 

 


Mon Oct 20

Medieval Theatre

Guest Speaker: Jenna Soleo-Shanks
Video: Everyman <http://vimeo.com/20629737>


Wed Oct 22

Asian Theatre

 

Video: Julie Taymor
More about Julie Taymor

Video: War Horse

Chapters 6 & 7 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 24 On-line Discussion: Chapters 8
Theatrical Genres

 

 


Mon Oct 27

Midterm Review

 

 

Wed Oct 29 Midterm Exam

Midterm Exam

Chapter 8 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Oct 31 No class.  

Mon Nov 3

Scenic Design

Guest Speakers: Curt Phillips , Scenic Designer A Doll's House

Meet in Marshall Performing Arts Center Main Theatre.

 

Wed Nov 5 Costume Design

Guest Speakers: Patricia Dennis, Costume Designer A Doll's House, Katie Martin, Costume Designer Legally Blonde

 

Fri Nov 7 On-line Discussion: Chapter 9
Scenery
 

Mon Nov 10

Make-up Design

Guest Speakers: Patricia Dennis

 

Wed Nov 12 Shakespeare

Video: Hamlet, Prince of Denmark
More about William Shakespeare

Chapter 9 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 14 On-line Discussion: Chapter 10
Stage Costumes

Midterm Review

Midterm Exam


Mon Nov 17 Lighting Design

Guest Speakers: Solveig Bloomquist, Lighting Designer A Doll's House, Jim Eischen, Lighting Designer Legally Blonde


Wed Nov 19 Sound Design

Alex Flinner, Sound DesignerAnd Baby Makes Seven

Chapter 10 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 21

On-line Discussion: Chapter 11
Lighting and Sound

 

 


Mon Nov 24 Restoration

Video: Tartuffe
More about Moliere


Video: the Importance of Being Earnest
More about Oscar Wilde


Wed Nov 26 Realism

Video: Uncle Vanya
More about Anton Chekhov


Video: Miss Julie
More about August Strindberg

Chapter 11 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Nov 28

On-line Discussion: Chapter 12
Musical Theatre

 

 


Mon Dec 1 Modern Tragedy

Video: Death of a Salesman
More about Arthur Miller


Video: The Glass Menagerie
More about Tennessee Williams


Wed Dec 3

Contemporary Theatre

Video: Between Beckett and Brecht
Video: Katrina Waiting for Godot

More about Samuel Becket
More about Bertholdt Brecht

Chapter 12 Moodle Assignment Due

Fri Dec 5 On-line Discussion: Chapters 13 & 14
Global and Contemporary Theatre

 


Mon Dec 8 Theatrical Diversity

Video: Top Girls
More about Caryl Churchill

Video: Angels in America
More about Tony Kushner


Wed Dec 10

Final Review

Chapters 13 & 14 Moodle Assignment Due

Course Evaluation

Fri Dec 12

Final Theatre Review Due


Final Exam: <http://www.d.umn.edu/onestop/calendar/pdf/2014-2015-final-exam-reference.pdf>
Monday, December 15, 10:00-11:55 AM

Montague 203

Continuing Education University of Minnesota Duluth
UMD logo