The Five Gospels

In 1985, a group of theologians known as the Jesus Seminar, started on a project to try to determine which of the sayings attributed to Jesus in the New Testament could be reliably considered to be authentic, using linguistic, sociological, theological and other bases. In 1995 the results of their deliberations were published as The Five Gospels, since the apocryphal Gospel of Thomas was included. The words of Jesus are indicated by color: red for authentic, pink for probable, grey probably not authentic, and black not authentic.

[click thumbnail for large view]

Black cover with text
Page with black, red, and green text

Back to Top

Back to Displays

Ramseyer Home