University of Minnesota Duluth block M and wordmark

 UMD News Releases

Communication Associate: Public Relations | Lori Melton | | (218) 726-8830

September 24, 2014
Robert Nygaard | Communication Director | University of Minnesota Duluth Athletics | 218-726-8191 |
Lori Melton | Communication Associate | External Affairs | 218 726-8830 |

UMD Athletics Adds Three New Endowed Scholarships

DULUTH, MN — The University of Minnesota Duluth Department of Intercollegiate Athletics has added three new endowed scholarships for 2014–15: the Bruce Fishback Men’s Hockey Scholarship, the Allen W. Decker Football Scholarship, and the Ron Metso Men’s Basketball Scholarship. Endowed athletic scholarships (both full and partial) are one way for UMD to secure long-term athletic success by ensuring there will be sufficient funds to support Bulldog student-athletes long into the future.

UMD athletics awards nearly $2 million annually in scholarships for its student athletes.

“The Bulldogs are very fortunate to have such ardent support from these and many other donors,” said UMD athletic director Josh Berlo. “Their gifts are making a true difference in the lives of our student-athletes every day as they develop into the leaders of tomorrow. We sincerely appreciate the generosity of these three families and all of our Bulldog Club members, season ticket holders and fans.”

Bruce Fishback

Bruce Fishback Men’s Hockey Scholarship

Dan Fishback created this scholarship to honor his younger brother Bruce’s memory in perpetuity at UMD and with the Bulldog men’s hockey program. Bruce Fishback, a four-year UMD lettermen (1983-87) who was a member of two Western Collegiate Hockey Association regular season and playoff championship clubs, died on Sept. 28, 2012 of brain cancer at the age of 47. The purpose of the Bruce Fishback Men’s Hockey Scholarship Fund is to provide financial assistance to Bulldog men’s hockey players who are enrolled in the Labovitz School of Business and Economics. This year’s recipient is senior right winger and team captain Adam Krause.

“My brother Bruce was a first-class guy,” said Dan Fishback, a standout center with the Bulldogs from 1979-82. “The Bruce Fishback Men’s Scholarship is something that combines two passions that my wife and I are committed to. I’m proud of my brother’s legacy as well as what Bulldog hockey has meant to the community of fans, scholars, students, players and alumni.”

Allen W. Decker

Allen W. Decker Football Scholarship

Al and Sue Decker, who are both UMD graduates, created this scholarship in memory and honor of legendary Bulldog head football coach Jim Malosky. Al was a two-way starter (offensive guard and linebacker) with the Bulldogs and as a senior team captain in 1969,was chosen to the All-Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Team. The purpose of the Allen W. Decker Football Scholarship is to provide financial support to Bulldog football offensive linemen. This year’s recipient is senior offensive guard Andrew Muer.

“I wanted to make the path easier for a student-athlete -- particularly an offensive lineman -- to get a top-notch education and play collegiate football,” said Al Decker.

Ron Metso

Ron Metso Men’s Basketball Scholarship

Former Bulldog basketball center Ron Metso gifted this scholarship through his estate. Metso started three years in the UMD frontcourt and exited the Bulldog program in 1980 as its No. 25 all-time leading scorer. After playing basketball professionally for one year in Europe, he began working for American Family Insurance, his employer until his death on July 22, 2012 (he was 54). Metso was injured in a diving accident in July 1990 that resulted in paralysis and left him permanently being confined to a wheelchair. The purpose of the Ron Metso Scholarship is to provide financial support to student-athletes competing on the UMD men’s basketball team. This year’s recipient is sophomore forward Lane Olson.

The following is a complete list of the UMD’s 35 athletic scholarships. Those interested in contributing to any of these endowments or creating one of their own, can contact UMD Director of Athletic Development Gary Holquist at (218) 726-6185 or

  • Scott “HB” Hanna Baseball Scholarship
  • Joyce and Dave Goldberg Men’s Basketball Scholarship
  • Gary Holquist and Dale Race Men’s Basketball Scholarship
  • Wayne and Jane Keto Men’s Basketball Memorial Fund Scholarship
  • Dale Race Men’s Basketball Scholarship
  • George Fisher Men’s Basketball Scholarship
  • Ron Metso Men’s Basketball Scholarship
  • Karen Stromme Women’s Basketball Scholarship
  • John A. Economos Football Scholarship
  • Lloyd Peterson Memorial Football Scholarship
  • Richard LeBeau Football Scholarship
  • Harvey Solon Memorial Football Scholarship
  • Allen W. Decker Football Scholarship
  • James S. Malosky Football Scholarship
  • Anderson Men’s Hockey Scholarship
  • Football Legacy Scholarship
  • Dr. Lloyd Dedon Men’s Hockey Scholarship
  • Bruce Fishback Men’s Hockey Scholarship
  • Ron Johnson Men’s Hockey Scholarship
  • Theodore E. Maki Men’s Hockey Scholarship
  • Hoagie Men’s Hockey Scholarship
  • Dave and Corinne Carlson Men’s Hockey Scholarship
  • Blueline Club of Duluth Men’s Hockey Scholarship
  • Women’s Hockey Scholarship
  • Ed Haller Family Softball Scholarship
  • Vesterstein Tennis Scholarship
  • The Young Runners Men’s Cross Country Scholarship
  • The Young Runners Women’s Cross Country Scholarship
  • The Triple H Track and Field Scholarship
  • Lynn M. Morris Volleyball Scholarship
  • Dave Goldberg Family Scholarship
  • Linda Graham Powless Scholarship
  • Willard and Jeri Ogren Scholarship
  • Carow Family Athletic Scholarship
  • Republic Bank Athletic Scholarship.

Choose appearance:
[ Desktop | Mobile friendly ]