2015 Hearing & Balance


Critical fact icon The inner ear consists of 2 structural regions that contain different fluids:  the bony (osseous) labyrinth, which contains Na+-rich perilymph, and the membranous labyrinth, which contains K+-rich endolymph.  The histology in each of the 6 receptive areas of the inner ear is similar.
Labyrinth schematic


Osseous labyrinth
Grey Perilymph
Dark blue Membranous labyrinth
Light blue Endolymph
Red Receptive region
Green Gelatinous mass
Email: Dr. Janet Fitzakerley | ©2015 University of Minnesota Medical School Duluth | Last modified: 8-feb-15 8:34 PM