2015 Vision


  • the retina consists of 3 nuclear layers (described along the light path from front to back) which contain:
    1. INNER - the ganglion cell bodies whose axons form the optic nerve
    2. MIDDLE - bipolar cell bodies
    3. OUTER - the photoreceptors (rods and cones)

  • in between the primary cell layers are two plexiform layers (called the inner and outer synaptic layer), which contain the amacrine and horizontal cells, respectively

  • specialized glial cells (Muller cells) span the entire retina

Retina structure

Email: Dr. Janet Fitzakerley | ©2015 University of Minnesota Medical School Duluth | Last modified: 12-feb-15 6:05 AM