University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
MyU | Search | People | Departments | Events | News
Home > Contact > Faculty & Staff Directory
Directory of Faculty and Staff

Department Head: Marc Seigar

Director of Graduate Studies: Richard Gran

Faculty

Jay Austin - Professor

Jay Austin

Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology/Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, 1999, Physical Oceanography.

Office Location: 209 RLB and 376 MWAH
Webpage:
Email: jaustin@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-8773


Sophia Chabysheva - Assistant Professor

Sophia Chabysheva

Ph.D. Southern Methodist University, 2009, Theoretical Particle Physics.

Office Location: 353 MWAH
Webpage:
Email: schabysh@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-7594


Richard Gran - Associate Professor

Rik Gran

Ph.D. University of Minnesota Twin Cities, 2002.

Office Location: 382 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~rgran/
Email: rgran@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-7096


Alec Habig - Professor

Alec Habig

Ph.D. Indiana University, 1996, Astrophysics.
Research Interests: Currently working on the MINOS and NOvA long baseline neutrino oscillation experiments, and the HALO and SNEWS supernovae neutrino experiments. Assoc. Director of the Soundan Mine Underground Lab.
Office Location: 358 MWAH
Webpage: http://neutrino.d.umn.edu/~habig/
Email: habig@neutrino.d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-7214


John Hiller - Professor

John Hiller

Ph.D. University of Maryland, 1996, Theoretical Particle Physics.

Office Location: 353 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~jhiller
Email: jhiller@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-7594


Darrin Johnson - Instructor

Darrin Johnson

M.S. University of Minnesota Duluth, 1990.

Office Location: 354 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~djohns30/
Email: djohns30@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-7210


Sergei Katsev - Associate Professor

Sergei Katsev

Ph.D. University of Ottawa, 2002, Physics.
Research Interests: Coupling of physical and biogeochemical processes in sediments and water columns of stratified lakes. Large modern lakes as model systems for ancient oceans. Reaction-transport modeling.
Office Location: 230D RLB (LLO) and 384 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~skatsev/
Email: skatsev@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-6057


Sam Kelly - Assistant Professor

Sam Kelly

Ph.D. Oregon State University, 2011, Physical Oceanography.

Office Location: 213 RLB and 376 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~smkelly/
Email: smkelly@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-6992


Bruce Ludewig - Instructor

Bruce Ludewig

M.S. University of Minnesota, 2009.

Office Location: 359 MWAH
Webpage:
Email: lude0015@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-8557


Jonathan Maps - Assistant Professor

Jon Maps

Ph.D. University of Massachusetts, 1982, Experimental Condensed-Matter Physics.

Office Location: 356 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~jmaps/
Email: jmaps@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-8125


James Rock - Instructor and Planetarium Program Director

Jim Rock

M.A. Hamline University, 1997.

Office Location: Alworth Planetarium Office
Webpage:
Email: rockx016@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-xxxx


Marc Seigar - Professor and Department Head

Marc Seigar

Ph.D. Liverpool John Moores University, 1998.
Research Interests: Structure and dynamics of disk galaxies, star formation in galaxies, dark matter in galaxies, the nature of dark matter, observational cosmology.
Office Location: 374 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~msseigar/
Email: msseigar@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-6704


Vitaly Vanchurin - Assistant Professor

Vitaly Vanchurin

Ph.D. Tufts University, 2005, Theoretical Physics.

Office Location: 378 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/cosmology/
Email: vvanchur@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-6777


Eric West - Assistant Professor

Eric West

Ph.D. Syracuse University, 2010.

Office Location: 352 MWAH
Webpage:
Email:
Phone: 218-726-xxxx


Faculty Emeritus

Photo of Casserberg Bo R. Casserberg, Associate Professor Emeritus.
Ph.D., Princeton University, 1968, Magnetic Resonance.
bcasserb@d.umn.edu, 218-726-8247, 352 MWAH
Photo of Jordan Thomas F. Jordan, Professor Emeritus.
Ph.D., University of Rochester, 1962, Theoretical Physics.
tjordan@d.umn.edu, 218-726-7213, 358 MWAH
Photo of Sydor Michael Sydor, Professor Emeritus.
Ph.D., University of New Mexico, 1964, Experimental Condensed-Matter Physics
msydor@d.umn.edu, 218-726-7205, 376 MWAH
J. Gordon Likely, Assistant Professor Emeritus.
M.A., University of Toronto, 1949

Affiliate Faculty

Jing Bai,
Assistant Professor, UMD Electrical Engineering.
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology, 2007.
Research Interests: Optoelectronics, Quantum Optics, and Nonlinear Optics
jingbai@d.umn.edu, 218-726-8606, MWAH 255
Imran Hayee,
Professor, UMD Electrical Engineering.
Ph.D., University of Southern California, 1998.
Research Interests: Optical Fiber Communication and Medical Instrumentation.
ihayee@d.umn.edu, 218-726-6743, MWAH 278
Ahmed Heikal,
Professor, UMD Chemistry and Biochemistry.
Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 1995.
Research interests: Cellular and molecular Biophysics.
aaheikal@d.umn.edu, 218-726-7036, 253C-SSB
Anne Hinderliter,
Associate Professor, UMD Chemistry and Biochemistry.
Ph.D., Cornell University, 1994.
Research Interests: Membrane Biophysics.
ahinderl@d.umn.edu, 218-726-7062, 152B SSB
Brian Kohn,
Instructor, UMD Civil Engineering.


bkohn@d.umn.edu, 218-726-6456, 256 SCiv
Mark Ingram,
Medical Physicist, St. Luke's Hospital Radiation Oncology.
M.S., DABR, University of Pennsylvania, 2007.
Research Interests: Medical Physics.
mingram@slhduluth.com, 218-249-7848
Howard Mooers,
Professor, UMD Earth and Environmental Sciences.
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1988.
Research Interests: Astronomy, Glaciology.
hmooers@d.umn.edu, 218-726-7239, HH 227
Dan Peterson,
Medical Physicist, St. Luke's Hospital Radiation Oncology.
M.Sc., DABMP, University of Wisconsin, 1995.
Research Interests: Medical Physics.
peterson@slhduluth.com, 218-249-7803
John Swenson,
Associate Professor, UMD Geological Sciences.
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2000.
Research Interests: Quantitative Geomorphology, Groundwater Modeling.
jswenso2@d.umn.edu, 218-726-6844, HH 224

Staff

Photo of Kochmann Todd Kochmann
Accountant I
kochm006@d.umn.edu
218-726-7123
371 MWAH
Photo of Nixon Matt Nixon
Sr. Laboratory Services Coordinator
nixon057@umn.edu
218-726-6312
31 MWAH
Photo of Peterson Jeanne Peterson
Executive Office and Administrative Specialist
jrpeters@d.umn.edu
218-726-7124
371 MWAH

Graduate Assistants


John Demgen
denge002@d.umn.edu
218-726-6734
341 MWAH
Alexander Evich
evich001@d.umn.edu
218-726-7709
71 MWAH
Luke Gloege
gloeg002@d.umn.edu
218-726-8649
148 MWAH
Karl Kaess
kaes0001@umn.edu
377 MWAH
Mudit Jain
jainx286@d.umn.edu
218-726-6734
341 MWAH
Rebekah Kisrow
kisro007@d.umn.edu
218-726-6734
341 MWAH
Mithila Mangedarage
bamun001@d.umn.edu
218-726-7709
71 MWAH
Ethan Miltenberger
milte003@d.umn.edu
218-726-7709
71 MWAH
Dan Schubring
schub071@d.umn.edu
218-726-6734
341 MWAH
San-Ha Seo
seoxx124@d.umn.edu
218-726-6147
291 MWAH
Naresh Tako
takox008@d.umn.edu
218-726-7709
71 MWAH
Daniel Titze
titz0004@d.umn.edu
218-726-8649
148 MWAH
Kyle Thomsen
thoms302@d.umn.edu
218-726-8395
349 MWAH
Yu-Ting You
youxx128@d.umn.edu
218-726-6734
341 MWAH
© 2015 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 07/15/15 12:27 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations