University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News
Home > Contact > Faculty & Staff Directory
Directory of Faculty and Staff

Department Head: Marc Seigar

Director of Graduate Studies: Rik Gran

Faculty

Jay Austin - Associate Professor

 Jay Austin

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology/Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, 1999, Physical Oceanography.

Office Location: 209 RLB and 352 MWAH
Webpage:
Email: jaustin@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-8773


Sophia Chabysheva - Assistant Professor

 Sophia Chabysheva

Ph.D., Southern Methodist University, 2009, Theoretical Particle Physics.

Office Location: 353 MWAH
Webpage:
Email: schabysh@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-7594


Richard Gran - Associate Professor

 Richard Gran

Ph.D., University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 2002.

Office Location: 382 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~rgran/
Email: rgran@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-7096


Alec Habig - Professor

 Alec Habig

Ph.D., Indiana University, 1996, Astrophysics.
Research Interests: Currently working on the MINOS and NOvA long baseline neutrino oscillation experiments, and the HALO and SNEWS supernovae neutrino projects. Assoc. Director of the Soudan Mine Underground Lab.
Office Location:
Webpage: http://neutrino.d.umn.edu/~habig/
Email: habig@neutrino.d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-7214


John Hiller - Professor

 John Hiller

Ph.D., University of Maryland, 1980, Theoretical Particle Physics.

Office Location: 353 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~jhiller/
Email: jhiller@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-7594


Darrin Johnson - Instructor

 Darrin Johnson

M.S., University of Minnesota Duluth, 1990.

Office Location: 354 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~djohns30/
Email: djohns30@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-7210


Sergei Katsev - Associate Professor

 Sergei Katsev

Ph.D., University of Ottawa, 2002, Physics.
Research Interests: Coupling of physical and biogeochemical processes in sediments and water columns of stratified lakes. Large modern lakes as model systems for ancient oceans. Reaction-transport modeling.
Office Location: 230D RLB (LLO) and 356 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~skatsev/
Email: skatsev@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-6057


Dr. Sam Kelly - Assistant Professor

Dr. Sam Kelly

Ph.D., Oregon State University, 2011, Physical Oceanography

Office Location: MWAH 376 and RLB 213
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~smkelly/
Email: smkelly@d.umn.edu
Phone: (218) 726-6991


Bruce Ludewig - Instructor

 Bruce Ludewig

M.S., University of Minnesota, 2009

Office Location: 359 MWAH
Webpage:
Email: lude0015@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-8557


Jonathan Maps - Assistant Professor

 Jonathan Maps

Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, 1982, Experimental Condensed-Matter Physics.

Office Location: 384 MWAH
Webpage: http://www.d.umn.edu/~jmaps/
Email: jmaps@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-8125


Marc Seigar - Professor and Department Head

 Marc Seigar

Ph.D., Liverpool John Moores University, 1998, Astrophysics
Research Interests: Structure and dynamics of disk galaxies, star formation in galaxies, dark matter in galaxies, the nature of dark matter, observational cosmology
Office Location: 374 MWAH
Webpage: http://d.umn.edu/~msseigar
Email: msseigar@d.umn.edu
Phone: (218) 726-6704


Vitaly Vanchurin - Assistant Professor

 Vitaly Vanchurin

Ph.D., Tufts University, 2005, Theoretical Physics
Research Interests: Cosmology, General Relativity, Astrophysics, High Energy Physics, Quantum Mechanics, Condensed Matter Physics, Biophysics
Office Location: 378 MWAH
Webpage: http://d.umn.edu/cosmology
Email: vvanchur@d.umn.edu
Phone: 218-726-6777


Faculty Emeritus

Photo of Casserberg Bo R. Casserberg, Associate Professor Emeritus.
Ph.D., Princeton University, 1968, Magnetic Resonance.
bcasserb@d.umn.edu, 218-726-8247, 352 MWAH
Photo of Jordan Thomas F. Jordan, Professor Emeritus.
Ph.D., University of Rochester, 1962, Theoretical Physics.
tjordan@d.umn.edu, 218-726-7213, 358 MWAH
Photo of Sydor Michael Sydor, Professor Emeritus.
Ph.D., University of New Mexico, 1964, Experimental Condensed-Matter Physics
msydor@d.umn.edu, 218-726-7205, 376 MWAH
J. Gordon Likely, Assistant Professor Emeritus.
M.A., University of Toronto, 1949

Affiliate Faculty

Jing Bai,
Assistant Professor, UMD Electrical Engineering.
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology, 2007.
Research Interests: Optoelectronics, Quantum Optics, and Nonlinear Optics
jingbai@d.umn.edu, 218-726-8606, MWAH 255
Imran Hayee,
Professor, UMD Electrical Engineering.
Ph.D., University of Southern California, 1998.
Research Interests: Optical Fiber Communication and Medical Instrumentation.
ihayee@d.umn.edu, 218-726-6743, MWAH 278
Ahmed Heikal,
Professor, UMD Chemistry and Biochemistry.
Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 1995.
Research interests: Cellular and molecular Biophysics.
aaheikal@d.umn.edu, 218-726-7036, 253C-SSB
Anne Hinderliter,
Associate Professor, UMD Chemistry and Biochemistry.
Ph.D., Cornell University, 1994.
Research Interests: Membrane Biophysics.
ahinderl@d.umn.edu, 218-726-7062, 152B SSB
Brian Kohn,
Instructor, UMD Civil Engineering.


bkohn@d.umn.edu, 218-726-6456, 256 SCiv
Mark Ingram,
Medical Physicist, St. Luke's Hospital Radiation Oncology.
M.S., DABR, University of Pennsylvania, 2007.
Research Interests: Medical Physics.
mingram@slhduluth.com, 218-249-7848
Howard Mooers,
Professor, UMD Earth and Environmental Sciences.
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1988.
Research Interests: Astronomy, Glaciology.
hmooers@d.umn.edu, 218-726-7239, HH 227
Dan Peterson,
Medical Physicist, St. Luke's Hospital Radiation Oncology.
M.Sc., DABMP, University of Wisconsin, 1995.
Research Interests: Medical Physics.
peterson@slhduluth.com, 218-249-7803
John Swenson,
Associate Professor, UMD Geological Sciences.
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2000.
Research Interests: Quantitative Geomorphology, Groundwater Modeling.
jswenso2@d.umn.edu, 218-726-6844, HH 224

Staff

Photo of Nixon Matt Nixon
Sr. Laboratory Services Coordinator
nixon057@d.umn.edu
218-726-6312
31 MWAH
Photo of Peterson Jeanne Peterson
Executive Office and Administrative Specialist
jrpeters@d.umn.edu
218-726-7124
371 MWAH
Photo of Sorensen John Sorensen
Research Fellow
jsorense@d.umn.edu
218-726-8469
395 MWAH

Graduate Assistants


John Demgen
denge002@d.umn.edu
218-726-6734
341 MWAH
Alexander Evich
evich001@d.umn.edu
218-726-7709
71 MWAH
Luke Gloege
gloeg002@d.umn.edu
218-726-8649
148 MWAH
Karl Kaess
kaes0001@umn.edu
377 MWAH
Mudit Jain
jainx286@d.umn.edu
218-726-6734
341 MWAH
Rebekah Kisrow
kisro007@d.umn.edu
218-726-6734
341 MWAH
Mithila Mangedarage
bamun001@d.umn.edu
218-726-7709
71 MWAH
Ethan Miltenberger
milte003@d.umn.edu
218-726-7709
71 MWAH
Dan Schubring
schub071@d.umn.edu
218-726-6734
341 MWAH
San-Ha Seo
seoxx124@d.umn.edu
218-726-6147
291 MWAH
Naresh Tako
takox008@d.umn.edu
218-726-7709
71 MWAH
Daniel Titze
titz0004@d.umn.edu
218-726-8649
148 MWAH
Kyle Thomsen
thoms302@d.umn.edu
218-726-8395
349 MWAH
Yu-Ting You
youxx128@d.umn.edu
218-726-6734
341 MWAH
© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 11/20/14 11:10 AM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations