University of Minnesota Duluth
 
 
myUMD | Search | People | Departments | Events | News
Home > Research > UROP Projects
Possible UROP Projects

Applications for UROP must be made by deadlines announced early in each semester. Information on the application process is available at http://www.d.umn.edu/urop.

Jay Austin, MWAH 352 and RLB 209, 726-8773, jaustin@d.umn.edu

  • Coastal physical oceanography and limnology, including estuaries and lakes. Effects of climate change on large lakes

Richard Gran, MWAH 382, 726-7096, rgran@d.umn.edu

  • Develop and test pieces of MINERvA experiment software infrastructure.
  • Neutrino interaction modeling and analysis using GENIE event generator.
  • Build, test, and operate muon telescope in our lab.

Alec Habig, MWAH 384, 726-7214, habig@neutrino.d.umn.edu

  • Work on maintaining the MINOS experiment (Main Injector Neutrino Oscillation Search) to watch neutrinos oscillate as they travel between Fermilab, near Chicago, and the Tower-Soudan mine.
  • Study neutrinos, cosmic rays, and proton decay using the Super-Kamiokande detector.
  • Work with the SNEWS (Supernova Neutrino Early Warning System) project to help provide an early warning of the next galactic supernova using data from the world's neutrino detectors.

John Hiller, MWAH 353, 726-7594, jhiller@d.umn.edu

  • Numerical solution of coupled integral equations
  • Analytic Lanczos diagonalization techniques
  • Properties of bound states in quantum field theories

Thomas Jordan, MWAH 358, 726-7213, tjordan@d.umn.edu

  • Dynamics of open quantum systems
  • Foundations of quantum mechanics

Sergei Katsev, 230D RLB, MWAH 358, 726-6057, skatsev@d.umn.edu

  • Study the fundamental interactions between physics and chemistry: Determine, by modeling and/or experiment, how the physical structure of porous medium affects the rates of chemical/biogeochemical reactions, such as in sediments in lakes and during petroleum formation.
  • Calculate the depth of oxygen penetration into aquatic sediments, including those of Lake Superior. The project involves analytical derivations, solving a diffusion-reaction differential equation, verification by numerical simulation, and comparison against experimentally obtained oxygen profiles in Lake Superior. Suitable for an analytically-inclined student.
  • Testing of a recently updated numerical model for the reaction and transport processes in aquatic sediments, development of new model capabilities, and application to Lake Superior sediments. The project requires programming skills, knowledge of GUI programming is a plus.

Jonathan Maps, MWAH 378, 726-8125, jmaps@d.umn.edu

  • Condensed matter physics

Michael Sydor, MWAH 376, 726-7205, msydor@d.umn.edu

  • Satellite image processing and measurements to determine the optical properties of particles suspended in Duluth-Superior Harbor.
  • Measurement of the (in vivio) optical properties of skin.
  • Measurement of the scattering and extinction coefficients of snow.
© 2014 University of Minnesota Duluth
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Last modified on 07/01/13 03:49 PM
University of Minnesota Campuses
Crookston | Duluth | Morris
Rochester | Twin Cities | Other Locations