CS 2521 Calendar

Spring 2015

Date Topic or Reading Due

Tue (lab) Jan 20 HW1, The Mars MIPS Simulator, Introduction to MAL
Wed Jan 21 Computer Classes, Computer Components, P&H Ch. 1.1-1.3
Fri Jan 23 CPU Performance, P&H Ch. 1.4, 1.7, 1.8

Mon Jan 26 CPU Performance, P&H Ch. 1.4, 1.7, 1.8
Tue (lab) Jan 27 HW2, PA1, Introduction to MAL HW1
Wed Jan 28 IC Manufacturing, Power, P&H Ch. 1.5-1.7
Fri Jan 30 Translating C Control Structures, P&H Ch. 2.1-2.4, 2.7

Mon Feb 2 MAL Subprograms, P&H Ch. 2.8
Tue (lab) Feb 3 HW3, PA2 HW2, PA1
Wed Feb 4 MAL Data Structures, P&H Ch. 2.9, 2.14, 2.15
Fri Feb 6 MAL Instruction Coding, P&H Ch. 2.5, 2.10, 2.16, 2.17

Mon Feb 9 Assembler Organization, P&H Ch. 2.12, 2.15
Tue (lab) Feb 10 HW4, PA3 HW3, PA2
Wed Feb 11 Program Translation, Language Translation, P&H Ch. 2.12, 2.15
Fri Feb 13 Operating Systems: Virtualization of Resources, The Operating System Interface

Mon Feb 16 Processes and Threads, Operating Systems
Tue (lab) Feb 17 PA3 HW4
Wed Feb 18 Program Files, Linking, and Loading, P&H Ch. 2.12
Fri Feb 20 Implementing Objects, P&H Ch. 2.15

Mon Feb 23 Review for Midterm 1
Tue (lab) Feb 24 HW5, PA4 PA3
Wed Feb 25 Midterm 1
Fri Feb 27 P&H Ch. 4.1, 4.2, MIPS Implementation Introduction

Mon Mar 2 P&H Ch. 4.1, 4.2, MIPS Execution Activities
Tue (lab) Mar 3 HW6, PA4 HW5
Wed Mar 4 MIPS Instruction Types, P&H Ch. 4.3, 4.4
Fri Mar 6 MIPS Single-Cycle Implementation, P&H Ch. 4.4

Mon Mar 9 MIPS Single-Cycle Implementation, P&H Ch. 4.4
Tue (lab) Mar 10 HW7, PA5 HW6, PA4
Wed Mar 11 Logic Circuits, Integer Addition and Subtraction, P&H Ch. 3.1, 3.2, App. C.6
Fri Mar 13 Lookahead Carry, P&H App. C.5

Mon Mar 16 Spring Break
Tue (lab) Mar 17 Spring Break
Wed Mar 18 Spring Break
Fri Mar 20 Spring Break

Mon Mar 23 The ALU, Multiplication and Division, P&H Ch. 3.3, 3.4
Tue (lab) Mar 24 HW8, PA5 HW7
Wed Mar 25 Floating-Point Numbers, P&H Ch. 3.5, 3.6
Fri Mar 27 MIPS Multicycle Implementation, P&H Ch. 4.4

Mon Mar 30 Pipelining, P&H Ch. 4.5
Tue (lab) Mar 31 HW9, PA6 HW8, PA5
Wed Apr 1 Pipelining Obstacles, P&H Ch. 4.6, 4.7
Fri Apr 3 Register Renaming

Mon Apr 6 Register Renaming Performance
Tue (lab) Apr 7 HW10, PA7 HW9, PA6
Wed Apr 8 Review for Midterm 2
Fri Apr 10 Midterm 2

Mon Apr 13 P&H Ch. 5.1, 5.2, Caching
Tue (lab) Apr 14 HW11, PA7 HW10
Wed Apr 15 P&H Ch. 5.2, 5.3, Cache Addressing
Fri Apr 17 P&H Ch. 5.3, Cache Performance

Mon Apr 20 Virtual Memory, P&H Ch. 5.4
Tue (lab) Apr 21 HW12, PA8 HW11, PA7
Wed Apr 22 Memory Hierarchies, P&H Ch. 5.5
Fri Apr 24 Disk Storage, Reliability, P&H Ch. 6.1-6.4

Mon Apr 27 System Interconnection P&H Ch. 6.5-6.8
Tue (lab) Apr 28 HW13, PA8 HW12
Wed Apr 29 RAID P&H Ch. 6.9
Fri May 1 Networks, Network Layers, P&H Ch. 6.11

Mon May 4 Multiprocessor Systems, P&H Ch. 7.1-7.4
Tue (lab) May 5 HW13, PA8
Wed May 6 Multiprocessor Systems, P&H Ch. 7.5-7.8
Fri May 8 Review for the Final Exam

Mon May 11 Final Exam, 8:00 A.M. — 9:55 A.M.