CS 2521 Calendar

Fall 2014

Date Topic or Reading Due

Tue (lab) Sep 2 HW1, The Mars MIPS Simulator, Introduction to MAL
Wed Sep 3 Computer Classes, Computer Components, P&H Ch. 1.1-1.3
Fri Sep 5 CPU Performance, P&H Ch. 1.4, 1.7, 1.8

Mon Sep 8 CPU Performance, P&H Ch. 1.4, 1.7, 1.8
Tue (lab) Sep 9 HW2, PA1, Introduction to MAL HW1
Wed Sep 10 IC Manufacturing, Power, P&H Ch. 1.5, 1.6
Fri Sep 12 Translating C Control Structures, P&H Ch. 2.1-2.4, 2.7

Mon Sep 15 MAL Subprograms, P&H Ch. 2.8
Tue (lab) Sep 16 HW3, PA2 HW2, PA1
Wed Sep 17 MAL Data Structures, P&H Ch. 2.9, 2.14, 2.15
Fri Sep 19 MAL Instruction Coding, P&H Ch. 2.5, 2.10, 2.16, 2.17

Mon Sep 22 Assembler Organization, P&H Ch. 2.12, 2.15
Tue (lab) Sep 23 HW4, PA3 HW3, PA2
Wed Sep 24 Program Translation, Language Translation, P&H Ch. 2.12, 2.15
Fri Sep 26 Virtualization of Resources, The Operating System Interface, Operating Systems

Mon Sep 29 Processes and Threads, Operating Systems
Tue (lab) Sep 30 PA3 HW4
Wed Oct 1 Linking and Loading, P&H Ch. 2.12
Fri Oct 3 Implementing Objects, P&H Ch. 2.15

Mon Oct 6 Review for Midterm 1
Tue (lab) Oct 7 HW5, PA4 PA3
Wed Oct 8 Midterm 1
Fri Oct 10 P&H Ch. 4.1, 4.2, MIPS Implementation Introduction

Mon Oct 13 P&H Ch. 4.1, 4.2, MIPS Execution Activities
Tue (lab) Oct 14 HW6, PA4 HW5
Wed Oct 15 MIPS Instruction Types, P&H Ch. 4.3, 4.4
Fri Oct 17 MIPS Single-Cycle Implementation, P&H Ch. 4.4

Mon Oct 20 MIPS Single-Cycle Implementation, P&H Ch. 4.4
Tue (lab) Oct 21 HW7, PA5 HW6, PA4
Wed Oct 22 Logic Circuits, Integer Addition and Subtraction, P&H Ch. 3.1, 3.2, App. C.6
Fri Oct 24 Lookahead Carry, P&H App. C.5

Mon Oct 27 The ALU, Multiplication and Division, P&H Ch. 3.3, 3.4
Tue (lab) Oct 28 HW8, PA5 HW7
Wed Oct 29 Floating-Point Numbers, P&H Ch. 3.5, 3.6
Fri Oct 31 MIPS Multicycle Implementation, P&H Ch. 4.4

Mon Nov 3 Pipelining, P&H Ch. 4.5
Tue (lab) Nov 4 HW9, PA6 HW8, PA5
Wed Nov 5 Pipelining Obstacles, P&H Ch. 4.6, 4.7
Fri Nov 7 Register Renaming

Mon Nov 10 Register Renaming Performance
Tue (lab) Nov 11 HW10, PA7 HW9, PA6
Wed Nov 12 Review for Midterm 2
Fri Nov 14 Midterm 2

Mon Nov 17 P&H Ch. 5.1, 5.2, Caching
Tue (lab) Nov 18 HW11, PA7 HW10
Wed Nov 19 P&H Ch. 5.2, 5.3, Cache Addressing
Fri Nov 21 P&H Ch. 5.3, Cache Performance

Mon Nov 24 Virtual Memory, P&H Ch. 5.4
Tue (lab) Nov 25 HW12, PA8 HW11, PA7
Wed Nov 26 Memory Hierarchies, P&H Ch. 5.5
Fri Nov 28 Thanksgiving Holiday

Mon Dec 1 Input and Output
Tue (lab) Dec 2 HW13, PA8 HW12
Wed Dec 3 System Architecture
Fri Dec 5 Disk Storage, Reliability

Mon Dec 8 RAID
Tue (lab) Dec 9 HW13, PA8
Wed Dec 10 Multiprocessor Systems, highlights from P&H Ch. 6.3-6.7
Fri Dec 12 Review for the Final Exam

Wed Dec 17 Final Exam, 10:00 A.M. — 11:55 A.M.