TH 1501
Stage Lighting I
Daily Schedule
***Lighting Practicum Hours Begin January 31***

**Sources Week**
Wed Jan 19
Syllabus, text, journals, lab hours, blue snow?

 

Fri Jan 21

The functions of stage lighting

Journal Discussion - Sources

Textbook p. 15-19


 
Mon Jan 24

Lighting design process

Wed Jan 26 Color

Textbook p. 20
Groups chosen

Fri Jan 28

Color (continued)

Wear colorful clothing to class

Lighting Practicum Hours Begin This Week

**Visibility: Key Light Week**

Mon Jan 31
CIA Demo - Groups 1, 2 & 3
 (15 minutes per group)
Photo Chosen
Wed Feb 2
CIA Demo - Groups 4, 5 & 6
 (15 minutes per group)
Photo Chosen
Fri Feb 4
CIA Presentations Due
Groups 1, 2, & 3

**Visibility: Fill Light Week**
Mon Feb 7 CIA Presentations Due
Groups 4, 5 & 6
Wed Feb 9 Modeling with light Textbook p. 21-29
Fri Feb 11

Communication

Journal Discussion - Key& Fill Light

Textbook p. 30-40

**Color Week**
Mon Feb 14
Intro to equipment & lamps

Textbook p. 43-57

Wed Feb 16 Par lights  
Fri Feb 18
Ellipsoidals
 
Journal Discussion - Color
Textbook p. 58-62

**Patterns of Shadows Week**
Mon Feb 21

Fresnels

Textbook p. 63-65

Wed Feb 23 Beam Projectors, Scoops Textbook p. 66-67
Fri Feb 25

Striplights & Far cycs

Journal Discussion - Shadows

Textbook p. 68-71
Sun Feb 27

12:00 Noon

Strike: Blithe Spirit

 
Mon Feb 28 Followspots Textbook p. 72-76
Wed Mar 2 Midterm review
Fri Mar 4 Midterm Exam

Lighting Practicum Hours Resume This Week

**Direction/AngleWeek**
Mon Mar 7 Basic electricity
Textbook p. 77-84
Wed Mar 9

Connectors
Dimmers/patch panels

Textbook p. 85-98
Fri Mar 11

Light Plots
MF factors

Journal Discussion - Angle

Textbook p. 101-107


***Spring Break March 14-18***

**Contrast Week**
Mon Mar 21 Cable lab

Meet in MPAC Lobby

Wed Mar 23 No class  
Fri Mar 25 Drafting the Light Plot
Lighting schedules
 
Journal Discussion - Contrast
Textbook p. 107-114



**Atmosphere/Mood Week**
Mon Mar 28
Proficiency
 
Wed Mar 30 Proficiency
 
Fri Apr 1

Hang and focus

Focusing with the Santa Fe Opera

Journal Discussion - Mood

Textbook p. 132-143
Sun Apr 3
3:00 PM
Strike: Colder Than Here

Lighting Practicum Hours Resume This Week

**Composition Week**
Mon Apr 4

Proficiency

 
Wed Apr 6 Proficiency  
Fri Apr 8

Trouble shooting

Journal Discussion - Composition

Textbook p. 115-117

**Movement Week**
Mon Apr 11 Magic sheets/pre-programming Textbook p. 111
Wed Apr 13

Tech week

Textbook p. 137-139

Fri Apr 15
Automated Lighting
 
Journal Discussion - Movement
Emilie LaBonte Time Lapse Video


 
Mon Apr 18
Projections
Textbook p.118-125
Wed Apr 20

Digital control consoles
Hong Kong's Symphony of Lights

Textbook p. 85-94
Fri Apr 22    

Mon Apr 25
 
Wed Apr 27


Fri Apr 29    
Sun May 1

2:00 PM

Strike:The Odyssey

Mon May 2
Practicals
 
Wed May 4

Special Effects
Course Assessment

Fri May 6

Final Review
Journals Due

Click here to Review Journal Guidelines

 

Final Exam:
Friday, May 13
8:00-9:55 AM

 

Return to Stage Lighting I Syllabus